Company/Industry/Product/Brand Research - Journalism - Entrepreneurship@Journalism - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Industry Resources

Identify the industry in which your "idea" will compete

The federal government gathers industry information based on NAICS codes (formerly SIC codes). It is often easier to research industries if you know their classification codes. (Libraries and archives have an NAICS code of 519120. Internet search portals like Google would have a NAICS code of 519130.)

Check the Census Bureau for the latest business data

Locate company profiles, industry overviews, surveys, peer group analysis and reports

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited
Mergent Online
Provides immediate access to data on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
Date Coverage: 1922-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/

Bloomberg Terminal in the Journalism Library

Venture-Backed IPOs

Journalism - Entrepreneurship@Journalism: Company/Industry/Product/Brand Research

Industry Resources