→ If you have any suggestions on how to improve this guide or on books on new media art that the Library should aquire, email the Librarian for Art, Janet Hilts: janethilts@missouri.edu.
The Digital Media and Innovation Lab (DMiL) in Ellis Library provides innovative technology and resources for your creative projects. The lab includes:
The DMiL is available to students for class or personal projects. The DMiL is complemented by the Information Commons computers and equipment checkout at the Checkout & Information Desk (in Ellis): Equipment Lending | Digital Storytelling Equipment Lending
O'Reilly is a digital library and professional learning platform from O'Reilly Media, Inc. A wide variety of eBooks and learning modules are available on topccs relating to new media arts.
Tip: you can browse the search results by books, courses, videos, audiobooks, playlists, and filter by topic, date, etc. (expand search dropdown)
Immersive 3D Design Visualization: With Autodesk Maya and Unreal Engine 4 by 
The Art of Insight: How Great Visualization Designers Think by 
Mastering Blockchain (4th ed. Edition) by 
Creative Convergence: The AI Renaissance in Art and Design by 
The Sculptural in the (Post-)Digital Age by 
Everything Is Sampled: digital and print mediations in African arts and letters by 
I'll Be Your Mirror: art and the digital screenWhy browse? It is great for serendipitous searching and familiarizing yourself with the collections.
To browse print books on new media art in Ellis Library stacks, browse these call numbers on the 4th floor east:
There are other new media art books scattered throughout the N ranges, including
To find a book relevant to your practice and research, search by subject rather than just by keyword. Subject headings are tags that libraries assigns to all the books about a particular topic to make those books easier to find1. Tip: Use the Refine Results menu to filter results (e.g. to Books, eBooks, Ellis Library).
Art and technology -- 21st century
Arts -- Data processing
Computer art
Computer drawing
Human-computer interaction
Interactive art
New media art
Projection art
You may come across other useful subject headings during your research. Keep track of them so you can search with them in future. To search with them, paste them into the search box and select SU Subject Terms from the Select a Field tab.
Tip: try combining a subject heading with keywords. Here are some example searches (click/tap the screenshots to see the search results in Discover@MU):
1. Christine Fary, ‘Music: Find Books’, Milner Library, accessed 26 January 2024, https://guides.library.illinoisstate.edu/music/findingbooks.
Coded Territories: tracing indigenous pathways in new media art by 
Interactive Experience in the Digital Age: evaluating a new art practice by 
Art As Social Practice: technologies for change by 
We Are the Real Time Experiment [twenty years of FACT] by 
Ghosts in the Machine
Iterations: the new image
Never Alone: video games as interactive design
Art in the Age of the Internet, 1989 to Today
Electronic Superhighway: from experiments in art and technology to art after the internet
The killing machine and other stories 1995-2007 by 
2011 ≠ 1848 / Stan Douglas
Contemporary / Unconscious by 
Christa Sommerer and Laurent Mignonneau by 
Telematic Embrace: visionary theories of art, technology, and consciousness by 
Painting by Numbers by 
High-Tech Trash: glitch, noise, and aesthetic failure by 
The Rise of Metacreativity: AI aesthetics after remix by 
Digital Art and Meaning: reading kinetic poetry, text machines, mapping art, and interactive installations by 
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Humanities and Remix Studies by 
The Digital Interface and New Media Art Installations by 
Poetic Operations: Trans of Color Art in Digital Media by 
Composing interactions : an artist's guide to building expressive interactive systems by 
The Projection Designer's Toolkit by 
Computational Drawing: from foundational exercises to theories of representation by 
Immersed in Technology: art and virtual environments by Suggested databases for finding articles, book chapters, conference presentations, and other materials covering new media art and adjacent topics.
Access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
Provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings as well as works published by affiliated organizations about computing and information technology.
An art research database containing full-text art journals, books, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. It covers art history, design, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
