Art

The MET - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

Search using keywords to find both Essays and Works of Art. Examples of keywords for material or technique:

• Ceramic
• Porcelain
• Celadon Ware
• Stoneware
• Earthenware
• Terracotta
• Glazed

Museum of Art and Archaeology, Mizzou

From the Collections page, navigate to Online Exhibitions.  Click on corresponding year to enter exhibits:

• 2021    Rarely Exhibited Greek Pottery: Archaic-Hellenistic (550–30 BCE) 
• 2018    Pre-Columbia Pottery: Ancient Peru

To search the collection, from the Collections page, choose Advanced search. Can search by Material Medium, Culture, Historic or Cultural Period, etc.  

Ceramic World Destinations (Museum of Ceramic Art - New York MoCA/NY)

• the 'Google Map' of ceramics
• destinations on the interactive map include museums, galleries, design stores, manufacturers, institutions, cultural sites, and other ceramic-oriented venues

National Museum of Asian Art

Informative essays, maps, and videos covering ceramic pieces and their history, including production sites, processes, and makers. Some examples:

• Korean Ceramics in the Freer Gallery of Art 
• Ceramics in Mainland Southeast Asia

The Six Ancient Kilns sites of Japan 

• official website introducing Japan's six major historical kiln sites and their ceramic production histories: Echizen, Seto, Tokoname, Shigaraki, Tamba, Bizen
• informative sections for each kiln site: Outline and history, and Getting to know cultural properties .
• Library section includes videos, some with potters or kiln managers, with English captions.

* this section is under construction  *

Local & Regional

National & International

Jstor images - Selected Collections

• Christopher Roy: African Art and Field Photography
  • collection includes art and ceremonial objects, as well as documentation of their social context, use, and manufacture including techniques used in producing pottery.
  • cultures include: Mande, Mossi, Bwa (Burkina Faso), and Yoruba (Nigeria)
  • suggested search terms: pottery, potters, firing, clay, 

• Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
  • collection spans thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design.
  • suggested search terms: porcelain, Figure AND porcelain, earthenware, stoneware, tin-glazed, gilt, Vase

• Daghlian Collection of Asian Art
  • a teaching collection that includes Chinese pottery and artifacts

• Dura-Europos and Gerasa (Yale University)
  • images are related to the ancient sites of Dura-Europos in Syria and Gerasa in Jordan.
  • suggested search terms: jar, bowl, vessel, lamp, figurine, ceramics, terra cotta, clay, glaze

• Fowler Museum (University of California, Los Angeles)
  • includes collections of Moche, Ica, Chimu Inca, and Huari ceramics (Peru)
  • suggested search terms: Moche, Chimu Inca, Ica, Huari, Figure AND ceramic,  Vessel (many results for vessel - try using Refine Results menu)

• Majolica International Society 
  • the Majolica International Society is a non-profit collectors' and scholars' group dedicated to the study and promotion of Victorian Majolica
  • "Majolica" denotes the brightly colored, low-fired earthenware commercially introduced by the Minton Company at the 1851 London Exhibition of All Nations

• Seattle Art Museum
  • includes contemporary and historic ceramic arts

• Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
  • includes collection of European cups and saucers (18th and 19th C) with pieces manufactured by Worcester Porcelain Co. (British) and Sèvres Porcelain Manufactory (French).

Suggested databases for finding articles, book chapters, conference presentations, and other materials covering ceramic arts and crafts. 

Before you search - review how to choose keywords to search with and construct a search statement:

• Constructing a Search Statement - MU Libraries Quick Guides