Art

Resources for critical or inclusive practice

Glossaries and overviews

Regional

North America

United Kingdom

Regional

National

International

Special Collection has original prints and facsimiles representing a variety of printmaking processes and time periods. The collection's strength is European, but it includes materials from other regions as well.  Art students are welcome to visit and examine these prints up close in person.  

• Special Collections is open by appointment only.  You can schedule an appointment and find additional information on the page Research Appointments.
• The following is a sample of available prints in the collection. To search for other Special Collections materials using Discover@MU, please watch or read this tutorial .

Woodcuts

Woodcuts - facsimiles or reproductions

Intaglio

Relief printing

Jstor images - Selected Collections

• Bryn Mawr College Albert Winslow Barker Collection
  • images represent the photography and artwork of Albert Winslow Barker (1874-1947), based in Philadelphia.  He is best known as a printmaker 

• Davison Art Center, Wesleyan University - prints
  • over 6000 images of prints including: impressions by Dürer and Northern and Italian Renaissance artists: Rembrandt and his contemporaries; Goya; nineteenth-century French painter-printmakers such as Manet and Millet; and American modern and contemporary artists, especially Jim Dine

• Experimental Printmaking Institute (Lafayette College)
  • this institute at Lafayette College, Pennsylvania, is a unique laboratory that enables students to work hand in hand with professional artists using traditional print techniques in concert with experimental approaches

• The Illustrated Bartsch
  • over 50,000 images of European prints from the 15th to the early 19th centuries

• Japanese Ukiyo-e and Mokuhanga Prints (St. Lawrence University)
  • includes works by renowned printmakers such as Hiroshige, Utagawa Kunisada (Toyokuni III), and Yoshitoshi. 
  • also includes contemporary mokuhanga works by international artists such Annie Bissett, Ralph Kiggell, and Tuula Moilanen.

• Jingfan Wang: Traditional Chinese Printmaking 
  • iimages of traditional Chinese copying, typesetting, and printing techniques

• KCAI Printmaking Department Collection
  •  a collection of prints created by students, faculty, and visiting artists at the Kansas City Art Institute

• Mott-Warsh Collection - prints
  • images of work by artists of African origin working in the United States
  • artists include: Elizabeth Catlett, Mildred Thompson, William Majors, and Joseph Norman

Browsing for books

Why browse? Great for serendipitous searching and familiarizing yourself with the collections. 

Browsing for books in stacks

Browse by call numbers

To browse print books on printmaking in Ellis Library stacks, browse these call numbers: 

• starting with NE  -  on the 4th floor east. 
• Z243-Z264.5 Practical Printing  -  on the 1st floor west 
  • Includes letterpress printing and typesetting

Browsing in Discover@MU

Browse by Subject Headings

To find a book on relevant to your practice and research, search by subject, rather than just by keyword. Subject headings are tags that libraries assigns to all the books about a particular topic to make those books easier to find (Fary).

Selected Subject Headings to try browsing with:

Lithography 
Collotype

Intaglio Printing
Etching
Aquatint
Mezzotint
Photogravure

Relief Printing
Woodcut
Wood-Engraving
Linoleum block-printing

Screen process printing
Stencil

Monotype

Printmakers
Printmakers -- United States

Andō, Hiroshige, 1797-1858
Dürer, Albrecht, 1471-1528
Katsushika, Hokusai, 1760-1849
Mantegna, Andrea, 1431-1506
Posada, José Guadalupe, 1852-1913
Schongauer, Martin, active 15th century

Prints -- Exhibitions

Engraving -- Germany
Lithography, American
Prints, Japanese
Prints, Chinese
Prints, Italian