Art

• Keep your searches simple to the name of the person, event, or topic.
  • You can then choose a publication date or date range that will uncover those primary sources for your time period or specific year, 1963.
• You can browse entire issues and experience them in their original layout.
  • If you're already reading an item in this database, click "Browse this issue" at the top or at the right of your page. If you're starting from the Advanced Search page, click "Publications" and navigate to your desired issue based on its publication date.

AP Newsroom

• You don’t need to sign in to search and view the images and their descriptions and metadata.
• You can browse by decade or more specific date ranges.
• Start off by entering keywords on your topic, individual, organization, event, or similar, and then refine the results by date:
  • For example, search for Bill Russell and refine the results to 1963. If you don’t find enough results, try entering a less specific keyword, for example, Boston Celtics.
• Metadata and bylines provide details and context for each photo, and opportunities for further research.
  • For example, photographers or secondary people in a photo are often listed, which could be researched to glean a fuller understanding of the photo’s creation, its publication context, and so on.

Visual archives and databases

Example of collections to explore:

• Schlesinger Library of the History of Women in America
  • documents the history and lives of American women, across a wide spectrum of activities and experiences of the 19th and 20th centuries.
• Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movements
  • focuses on unearthing and digitizing the histories of civil rights activism by the everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities.

• more information about the Samir Husni Magazine Collection
• to view and use Special Collections materials, patrons must schedule a research appointment.

• To use this free service, you need to have a current Daniel Boone Regional Library card.
• Getting a card is free. Find instructions and FAQs here.

• follow the link, and choose a database with coverage of the 1960s.
• to search for a particular topic, individual, etc., choose "Search within the publication"
• you can also browse specific issues: navigate to the year you want, and choose an issue. Be sure to choose PDF Full Text to view the images as well as text.

• all issues from the 1960s are available

Selected magazines in print format in Ellis Library with 1960s issues:

• more detailed instructions on using Google Images for reverse image searches.

Evaluating & analyzing images