Skip to Main Content

Missouri Government: Journals & Voting Records

Your gateway to state government information..

Missouri House and Senate Journals

Legislative journals chronicle day-by-day activity in the Missouri General Assembly. In them one can find amendments to bills, individual legislators' votes on bills, actions taken by committees, reports of standing committees, governor's messages to the General Assembly, and more.  

Subject indexes to journals may be found in the back of each volume, or published as a separate volume.

Note: In the Appendixes to early journals (1840s through 1953) there are reprints of annual and biennial reports from Missouri state agencies. Use the Missouri Historical Documents Browser to quickly determine which agency reports might be available for a given year.

 
2018 Full text online --House of Representatives --Senate
2017 Full text online --House of Representatives --Senate
2016 Full text online --House of Representatives --Senate
2015 Full text online --House of Representatives --Senate

2014

Full text online   

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2013

Full text online    

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2012

Full text online    

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2011

Full text online    

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2010

Full text online    

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2009

Full text online    

--House of Representatives

 --Senate

2008

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2007

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2006

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2005

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2004

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2003

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2002

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2001

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

2000

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 
1999

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

1998

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

1997

Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

1996

 Full text online       

--House of Representatives  

 --Senate 

1986-1996

Microfiche

83rd-88th General Assembly journals kept in Government Documents.  Look for two microfiche cabinet drawers labeled "Missouri State Publications."  They are outside the north wall of the Govt Docs office.
1842-1985, 1991-1996, 1999-2000 Print House Journals - Book call number J 87 .M8
1941-forward shelved in Ellis Library 2 East.
Pre-1941 shelved in DOCS-REFERENCE on 1 East.
1838-2000 Print Senate Journals - Book call number J 87 .M8b
1941-forward shelved in Ellis Library 2 East.
Pre-1941 shelved in DOCS-REFERENCE on 1 East.
1805-forward Various formats State Historical Society of Missouri

Missouri Legislator Voting Records

 


Voting records for federal legislators from Missouri (Congress) are available on the Project Vote-Smart website. The site arranges voting records by congressperson and also by subject: environment, welfare, defense spending, etc.

Unfortunately, voting records for legislators in the state House and Senate are for the most part not in Project Vote-Smart. You will need to look for legislators' votes on bills in the Missouri legislative journals. State legislative journals are chronological documents, so you must turn to the exact date when the vote took place.

If you do not know the date when a certain bill was up for a vote, you could check the subject index or bill number index that accompanies the legislative journal volume. You can get a bill number by using a bill index. If you don't know the bill number and the bill was significant enough to get press coverage, you could check newspaper indexes for articles which tell the date of the vote.