Missouri Government: Bills

Note: You may wish to review How a bill becomes a law (Source: Missouri State Senate.)

Where to Find Text of Bills and Resolutions

See House and Senate bills in full text with keyword searchability on the Missouri government website. Bill summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, calendars, committee reports and resolutions are also included.

House and Senate Joint Bill Tracking
Basic searching by keyword, bill number, sponsor, or co-sponsor. Advanced search includes in-depth search of basic plus bill text, bills summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, revised statutes, committee reports, LR number, courtesy resolutions, and General Assembly member data pages. 

Bill topic indexes:

• 1995-1999 - Printed indexes in library

1981-1999

Ellis Library's Special Collections department holds microfilmed bills {C} dating back to the 81st General Assembly's 1st session (1981). Bill summaries and calendars are in print format under call number GA.Ho11/2. Fiscal notes for bills are under call number GA.Ho11/3.

Indexes available:

• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Committee on Legislative Research. Dates: 1967-2004
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Chamber of Commerce Legislative Report Service. Dates: 1973-1988 or 1989-1992 or 1993-1999.
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri House of Representatives.
  Subject index for only the bills which passed, 1981-2007
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Office of State Courts.
  Summaries of selected bills which passed, 1982-2004
• Try checking legislative journals for the Missouri House and Senate. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

House - MU DEPOSITORY J87.M8 D4
Senate - MU DEPOSITORY J87.M8 D28

Indexes available:

• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Committee on Legislative Research. Dates: 1967-2004
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Chamber of Commerce. Dates: 1973-1988
• Try checking legislative journals. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

State Historical Society of Missouri

Indexes available:

• The Missouri General Assembly 46th to 61st Session, 1911-1941
  • Part I: Catalog of members in both houses of the legislature with bills sponsored or introduced by each member
  • Part II: Classified subject index of bills introduced in all sessions of the general assembly from the 46th to the 61st, inclusive

Bills "Truly Agreed to and Finally Passed" by the Legislature.

After a bill is "Truly Agreed to and Finally Passed," it is sent to the governor for a signature or veto.  Bills "Truly Agreed to and Finally Passed" by the legislature are available online back to 2000. Before that date, use printed publications in the library to find lists of bills.

• 1993-1998 (87th General Assembly, 1st Regular Session through the 90th, 1st.)
  Missouri Legislative Service volumes.
• 1989-1992 (77th General Assembly, 1st Regular Session through 84th)
  Special Legislative Report Service volumes. Look for section showing bill signings and vetoes.
• 1973-1988 (85th General Assembly, 1st Regular Session through the 86th, 2nd.)
  Special Legislative Report Service volumes. See thumb-tab labeled "Bill signings" (includes vetoes)
• 1981-1983 Indexes compiled by the MO General Assembly's Committee on Legislative Research.
• Check with a librarian if you need bills "Truly Agreed to and Finally Passed" before 1973.