U.S. Federal Information on Foreign Countries: Science & Technology

Concerned with scientific research into fundamental physics, finding out what the universe is made of and how it works.

An information space for European Research and Development (R&D) and exploitation of European R&D results.

Statistics on energy sources, production, emissions, prices, consumption, imports and exports, and more. Also includes Country Analysis Briefs.

You can read about the latest political decisions, or the latest advances in research; there is even a set of online leaflets about European Research in Action, written for the non-specialist and available in 11 or more languages.

The European Patent Office (EPO) provides a uniform application procedure for individual inventors and companies seeking patent protection in up to 38 European countries.

ESF an association of 80 member organizations devoted to scientific research in 30 European countries. Publications cover all scientific fields.

FAS provides timely, nonpartisan technical analysis on complex global issues that hinge on science and technology. Publications include articles, fact sheets, issue briefs, reports and white papers by FAS Project, along with the current Annual Report.

ISTC is an intergovernmental organization connecting scientists from Russia, Georgia and other countries of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) with their peers in Canada, the European Union, Japan, Republic of Korea, Norway and the United States.

Since 1817 the New York Academy of Sciences has been one of the world's foremost organizers of scientific conferences, symposia, and meetings. Archives of articles from their magazine are from 1998 to present.

A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

WDS Goals: Enable universal and equitable access to quality-assured scientific data,data services, products and information. Ensure long term data stewardship. Foster compliance to agreed-upon data standards and conventions. Provide mechanisms to facilitate and improve access to data and data products.

Contains more than 80 world maps describing the state of terrestrial, freshwater and marine habitats.

The Encyclopedia is a five-volume set with an associated website. Originally published in print format in 2002. The Encyclopedia contains: 500 authored articles; 150 definitions; 100 acronyms; 100 biographies of widely recognized contributors to global environmental change. Each article is prefaced by a few paragraphs aimed at the non-specialist level followed by a more rigorous academic review.