Library Guides: U.S. Federal Information on Foreign Countries: United Nations

United Nations Papers LibGuide

United Nations Papers
A separate guide gives information on United Nation books, databases, statistics, organizations and websites.

United Nations Internet Resources

Dag Hammarskjöld Library
Catalogue of UN documents and publications, voting records, and an index to speeches.
Data and Statistics
An enormous, free database of statistical information gathered by the United Nations and related agencies. Includes data from more than 180 countries and from a diverse group of IGOs, including the FAO, Unesco, UNDP and the WHO.
Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)
ECOSOC is the principal organ to coordinate economic, social, and related work of the 14 UN specialized agencies, functional commissions and five regional commissions. The Council also receives reports from eleven UN funds and programmes.
Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) - Resolutions and Decisions
Coverage is from 2001 to present.
General Assembly
General Assembly occupies a central position as the chief deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations. Comprising all 192 Members of the United Nations, it provides a unique forum for multilateral discussion.
General Assembly - Resolutions
Coverage is from the first session in 1946 to present.
General Assembly - Session Documents
Coverage is from 2002 to present.
Index to Speeches and Meetings
Citations to speeches made in the General Assembly (1983-), the Security Council (1983-), the Economic and Social Council (1983-) and the Trusteeship Council (1982). Links to the full text of speeches are provided.
International Court of Justice (IJC)
The (ICJ) has a twofold role: to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (Contentious cases) and to give advisory opinions (Advisory proceedings) on legal questions. Coverage is from 1947 to date.
Member States
This site contains the following types of documents organized by member state: meeting records, draft resolutions, states parties reports and press releases.
Peacekeeping Operations
United Nations peacekeeping is a unique and dynamic instrument developed by the Organization as a way to help countries torn by conflict create the conditions for lasting peace.
Security Council - Debates
Coverage is from 1995 to 2017
Security Council - Reports of the Secretary General
Coverage is from the first session in 1946 to present.
Reports of the Security Council missions
Coverage is from 1992 to present.
Security Council – Sanctions Committee
Detailed information on each sanctions committee, including relevant measures, lists, Committee Guidelines and comprehensive documentation, including official documents and Press Releases.
United Nations Bibliographic Information System UNBISNET
United Nations Charter
The Charter of the United Nations was signed on 26 June 1945, in San Francisco, at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization, and came into force on 24 October 1945.
Voting Records
The voting records for all resolutions which were adopted by the General Assembly beginning with its 32nd session (1977-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-). Links to the full text of resolutions are provided.

Online Books

Our MERLIN catalog has links to online books published by the United Nations.

Databases

United National Digital Library
The catalog for United Nations documents and publications. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library.
UN Data
United Nations Data provides statistics by pooling major UN databases and those of several international into one single internet environment. The innovative design allows a user to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search.
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
more...less...
Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Images

Assistance

The Duane G. Meyer Library at MSU in Springfield, Missouri became a United Nations Depository in 2000. This designation makes MSU the only UN depository in the state of Missouri. They receive documents from all areas of the United Nations, including official records of the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council, as well as sales publications. These documents are being cataloged in SWAN (the MSU Library online catalog). The MSU Library has also acquired a historical collection of UN documents in microformat, dating from 1946-1994. For expert assistance on UN topics, contact UN depository librarian Ann Fuhrman at MSU.

Featured Document

Cyberwarfare and its impact on international security by United Nations
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9789211422757
Publication Date: 2010
The publication seeks to raise the awareness of emerging risks and threats related to cyberwarfare by addressing cybersecurity and the lack thereof by many agencies. The aim is to raise the awareness of the general population on the dangers of cyberwarfare and to promote adequate security. The paper contains a presentation on this topic delivered by James Andrew Lewis to the United Nations Secretary -General Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters.