The Civil War in MssouriThis collection focuses on the Civil War in Missouri. Many of the books are in special collections and cannot be checked out. Our hope is that making these books more accessible will prove of value to those interested in this period of Missouri history.
Collection of Daniel Webster SpeechesThe Daniel Webster Speeches Collection contains pamphlets of speeches made by and about Daniel Webster, for the most part published during or shortly after Webster's lifetime. The earliest pamphlet in the collection was published in 1806, and the last in 1932. Many of the later pamphlets contain public eulogies made for Daniel Webster after his death in 1852. Webster's most famous speeches are represented in this collection, including his speech on the Compromise of 1850, his addresses on the national bank, and the noted speech at Niblo's Garden. Two autograph letters by Daniel Webster are also included in this collection.
Louisiana Purchase Exposition: The 1904 St. Louis World's FairThe documents here are intended to complement existing Internet collections and to further scholarly research and serious inquiry. They are from the collections of the University of Missouri Libraries and University Archives and were selected because they were not yet available on the Internet. Perhaps the most important of these is Mark Bennett's History of the Louisiana Purchase Exposition. The diversity of subjects is huge: veterinary practice, the famous artist Max Klinger, and poverty and relief efforts in Leipzig - and this just from Germany. The Committee on Digitization Initiatives of the MU Libraries hopes that these resources will be useful to the people of the State of Missouri and beyond, and we welcome any comments or questions.
Missouriana Digital Text CollectionThis collection was the first to be added to the UM Libraries Digital Library. It is very broad in scope and is subdivided into Missouri history, geology, literature, and the Civil War. Most of the items were contributed by the University of Missouri libraries, but other Missouri institutions also furnished material. The collection is added to as additional material is found. It is one of the more popular collections we have, especially for genealogists, historians, and geologists.
This collection is in the legacy University of Missouri Digital Library.
North American Agroforestry ConferenceSince 1989, the North American Agroforestry Conference series has been co-sponsored by the Association for Temperate Agroforestry and is held every two years. According to AFTA's website, the conference is "a major scientific forum for those involved in agroforestry research, extension and application in the US, Canada and overseas".
University of Missouri PressThe University of Missouri Press was founded in 1958. It publishes books on a variety of topics including American and world history, African American studies, women's studies, political science, literary criticism, regional studies, and creative nonfiction. Selected out-of-print titles have been digitized and are available in the MU Libraries digital repositories. For additional online titles, see the MOspace Institutional Repository.
Vetusta MonumentaVetusta Monumenta [Ancient Monuments], originally published in seven volumes between 1747 and 1906, was the first of three major publication series launched by the Society of Antiquaries of London in the eighteenth century. Plate I, Plate II, Plate III and Plate IV were published individually in 1718, the year the society was formally re-established at the Mitre Tavern. By commissioning these engravings, the society defined its research agenda in terms of preservation, visual documentation, and collecting. The first secretary,William Stukeley, recorded at the first meeting that the society was formed “with a design at their own charge to collect and print and keep exact Registers . . . of all Antient Monuments that come into their hands” (qtd. in Evans 1956: 58). John Talman, the first director, was later credited with the original idea of publishing a series of prints (Evans 1956: 62n7). Fellows of the society received a copy of each engraving as a benefit of membership and additional copies went to book- and printsellers.
Plat Books of MissouriThis is a collection of 114 Missouri County plat books published by W.W. Hixson & Co. Although the exact year of publication is unclear, it is estimated to be late 20's to early 30's. The plat books in this collection are held in the Special Collections Departments at Ellis Library at the University of Missouri-Columbia and the St. Louis Public Library. These plat books are quite frequently consulted. In an effort to preserve and make them more accessible, they have been made available online for the public-at-large.
Sanborn Maps for MissouriThe Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Company, established in 1867, compiled and published maps of U.S. cities and towns for the fire insurance industry to assess the risk of insuring a particular property. The maps are large scale plans of a city or town drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch, offering detailed information on the use made of commercial and industrial buildings, their size, shape and construction material. Some residential areas are also mapped. The maps show location of water mains, fire alarms and fire hydrants. They are color-coded to identify the structure (adobe, frame, brick, stone, iron) of each building.
Between 1955 and 1978, the Library of Congress withdrew duplicate sheets and atlases from their collection and offered them to selected libraries. Maps for Missouri towns and cities were given to the MU Libraries. Documenting the layout of 390 Missouri cities from 1883 to 1951, the University of Missouri-Columbia Ellis Library Special Collections Department has digitized 6,798 of the maps for Missouri cities from 1880 to 1922.
Daily TatlerContains two issues of The Daily Tatler from 1896.
The PhœnixContains over 50 issues of The Phœnix, from 1859-1861.