Library Guides: Altmetrics: Alternative Metrics for Measuring the Impact of Research: Article altmetrics

Scopus

Scopus Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus

Plum Analytics displays in the sidebar of journal article and abstract pages in the database Scopus.
It only appears in the sidebar when there is data available for the article that you're currently viewing.
Additional information

Dimensions

Dimensions
Look up articles and books in Dimensions to see their Altmetric badges. Requires free registration.

Web of Science

Web of Science Core Collection Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Usage Counts in Web of Science indicates the number of times users of Web of Science have viewed the full-text of an item or saved an item for use in a bibliographic management tool such as Endnote (via direct export or in a format to be imported later).

Two usage counts are available:

Last 180 days
Since February 1, 2013

Usage counts can be viewed on the right side of the list of search results and on the right side of the full record for an item.

IEEE xplore

Usage data and Altmetric badges are available in IEEE Xplore.

IEEE Xplore
Usage data and Altmetric badges are available in IEEE Xplore, an engineering database, for articles, transactions and conference proceedings.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1988-date
Maximum Users: 20
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Plum Analytics tool for article metrics

To look up metrics compiled by Plum Analytics for a specific article:

Paste the article DOI at the end of this prefix: https://plu.mx/a/?doi=

Example: https://plu.mx/a/?doi=10.1016/S0140-6736(17)32252-3

Altmetric Bookmarklet

Tool for viewing altmetric data from selected publisher websites such as Nature, Springer, Elsevier and Cambridge.

Download from Almetric.com.
Available for Chrome, Firefox and Safari.
Add bookmarklet to your bookmarks toolbar.
Provides altmetric data for articles with a single click.
Bookmarklet only works on PubMed, arXiv or pages containing a DOI including publisher sites like Nature, Springer and selected Elsevier journal titles.

Publisher sites

Elsevier: My Research Dashboard
Usage data provided through My Research Dashboard, a tool all Elsevier authors can access.

Publishers are starting to incorporate usage data into their journal web sites.
Examples:

PNAS
Wiley (Look at the Information Tab for a specific article to find metrics information.)
PLOS One
Elsevier --Usage data provided through My Research Dashboard, a tool all Elsevier authors can access.

Sage Policy Profiles

Sage Policy Profiles
A free tool to track the policy impact of your publications. Limited to tracking the policy impact of a person that sets up a Sage Policy Profiles account.

Mendeley

Citation management system that provides readership statistics
Search Mendeley papers, a crowd sourced catalog of journal articles, to locate readership statistics for specific titles