Skip to Main Content

Altmetrics: Alternative Metrics for Measuring the Impact of Research

MU does not currently have a subscription to Altmetric
Some publisher sites provide data from Altmetric.com for their publications (e.g. Wiley, Springer Nature)
View Altmetric.com data for specific articles and books through the following database:

Dimensions
Search millions of publications, grants, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents, and policy documents all in one place. Analyze research outcomes and gather insights on research funding and collaborations to inform future strategy. Available to the MU campus with a missouri.edu or umsystem.edu email address. Access provided by the MU Division of Research, Innovation & Impact.

MU does not currently have a subscription to Plum Analytics (Plum X)
View Plum Analytics (Plum X) metrics for specific articles through the following database:

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus

Your profile is created from data found in the following sources: Altmetric, BASE, Crossref, Mendeley, ORCID and Twitter.
You can keep track of how many times your work has been downloaded, bookmarked, and blogged through these sources.

A web-based service that helps researchers increase the visibility and impact of their publications.
Free for individual researchers.
Provides number of publication views, full-text downloads on publisher site, share referrals (i.e. the number of visits to your publication page that your sharing activities by email and online media have generated), and Kudos views (i.e. the total number of visits to your publication page on the Kudos site.

Webometric Analysis

Webometric Analyst 2.0

Free software designed to conduct automatic web analyses.
Analyzes the web impact of documents or web sites and creates network diagrams of collections of web sites.
Creates networks and time series analysis of social web sites (e.g., YouTube, Twitter) and some specialist web sites (e.g., Google Books, Mendeley).
For an overview, see Introduction to Webometric Analyst 2.0.