Library Guides: Food Science: Data & Federal Resources

Federal Data & Resources

FoodData Central
Includes five data types: Foundation Foods, Experimental Foods, USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies, and the USDA Global Branded Food Products Database.
Food Safety Research Information Office (USDA)
FSRIO collects food safety information. View the Food Safety Research Projects Database, recent publications, food safety standards, and more.
Food and Drug Administration
Find information on product recalls, food-borne illnesses, food safety regulations, labeling and packaging requirements, and more.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
FoodSafety.gov
Consumer resource for food safety information.

Market & Industry Resources

NAICS
North American Industry Classification System replaced the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS codes can assist with industry research.

IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/
Mintel
Includes market research reports for the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports. In order to use Mintel, you must first agree to the terms of Mintel Academic Access.
Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 2001-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Automatic
Mergent Online
Provides immediate access to data on NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody’s rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, annual meeting date, Moody’s news reports, and direct, real-time access to the EDGAR, the SEC website which includes are annual, quarterly, and special corporation records.
Date Coverage: Current
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation *

Legal & Legislative Resources

National Agricultural Law Center
Find statutes, regulations, research publications, and Congressional Research Service Reports related to food safety.
Center for Agriculture and Food Systems (CAFS)
CAFS at Vermont Law School trains law and policy students to develop real-world solutions for a more sustainable and just food system. Find resources, policy handbooks, and information on their Food and Agriculture Clinic, one of the only law school clinics exclusively devoted to the food system.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Food Safety Brief
Find key takeaways of state legislation regarding food safety, food code adoption maps, and more resources by NCSL.

Patent Information

MU Libraries Patent Guide
Find extensive information on our patents guide and get links to search patents.

CAS SciFinder
You can search for patents by subject or by inventor.
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html

Food Science

Data Management

Government Documents

Gov Docs Guides

Contact Gov Docs

Federal Data & Resources

Market & Industry Resources

Legal & Legislative Resources

Patent Information