Journalism - Newspaper Research: Missouri Newspapers

Daniel Boone Regional Library

• Articles and Newspapers available at DBRL
• Local and Historic Newspaper Guide
• Newsbank - Full text articles and archives from the Boone County Journal, Fulton Sun, Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post-Dispatch (library card needed)
• Newspapers on Microfilm

The Journalism Library has current issues of:

• Columbia Daily Tribune
• Columbia Missourian (online through MerlinOne -- see chart below)
• St. Louis Post Dispatch
• microfilm of the Columbia Missourian 1908-present

Missouri Digital Heritage - Digitized Missouri Newspapers organized by newspaper, made available by the Missouri Secretary of State

The State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSM)

• Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers - Use this tool to search for article citations from the Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers. Most newspapers published articles from papers in other parts of the state and covered events that occurred outside their readership area, however specific locations include Boonville, Columbia, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson City, Liberty, St. Louis.
• Missouri African American Newspapers - SHSMO's newspaper collection contains about thirty African American publications. The St. Louis Advance, perhaps established as early as 1881, is one of the earliest known black newspapers published in Missouri. Most of the state's African-American newspapers have been published in Kansas City and St. Louis, but Caruthersville, Charleston, Hannibal, Jefferson City, Joplin, Sedalia and Sikeston have also served as the home of African American newspapers.
• Missouri Digital Newspaper Project - The State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
• Newspapers on Microfilm at the SHSM - Missouri newspapers document events and public opinion from the state’s rural environs to its largest metropolitan areas. The State Historical Society of Missouri has over 56,000 reels of newspapers on microfilm available to researchers.
• SHSM's Editorial Cartoon Collection

For unofficial alternative press publications that originated on MU campus, please see the 'Underground Newspaper Collections' tab

• Columbia Missourian
  • Try this guide for direct link to recent Columbia Missourian articles and direct links to PDFs of special issues OR
  • see the chart below for locating specific editions
• Savitar – Mizzou yearbook 1891-2005
• University of Missouri Bulletin – Journalism Series

  • The First Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1944

  • Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1947

  • The Third Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1946

  • The Second Annual Fifty-Print Exhibition of News and Feature Pictures – 1945