Skip to Main Content
Books
Organic Spectroscopic Analysis
This introduction to organic spectroscopic analysis aims to provide the reader with a basic understanding of how nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), infrared (IR) and ultraviolet-visible (UV-Vis) spectroscopy, and mass spectrometry (MS) give rise to spectra, and how these spectra can be used to determine the structure of organic molecules. The text aims to lead the reader to an appreciation of the information available from each form of spectroscopy and an ability to use spectroscopic information in the identification of organic compounds. Aimed at undergraduate students, Organic Spectroscopic Analysis is a unique textbook containing large numbers of spectra, problems and marginal notes, specifically chosen to highlight the points being discussed. Ideal for the needs of undergraduate chemistry students, Tutorial Chemistry Texts is a major series consisting of short, single topic or modular texts concentrating on the fundamental areas of chemistry taught in undergraduate science courses. Each book provides a concise account of the basic principles underlying a given subject, embodying an independent-learning philosophy and including worked examples.
Publication Date: 2007
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds
First published over 40 years ago, this was the first text on the identification of organic compounds using spectroscopy. This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, as well as multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy. The key strength of this text is the extensive set of practice and real-data problems (in Chapters 7 and 8). Even professional chemists use these spectra as reference data. Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds is written by and for organic chemists, and emphasizes the synergistic effect resulting from the interplay of spectra. This text is characterized by its problem-solving approach with numerous practice problems and extensive reference charts and tables.
Publication Date: 2014
Organic Structures from Spectra
The derivation of structural information from spectroscopic data is now an integral part of organic chemistry courses at all Universities. A critical part of any such course is a suitable set of problems to develop the student's understanding of how structures are determined from spectra. Organic Structures from Spectra, Fifth Edition is a carefully chosen set of more than 280 structural problems employing the major modern spectroscopic techniques, a selection of 27 problems using 2D-NMR spectroscopy, more than 20 problems specifically dealing with the interpretation of spin-spin coupling in proton NMR spectra and 8 problems based on the quantitative analysis of mixtures using proton and carbon NMR spectroscopy. All of the problems are graded to develop and consolidate the student's understanding of organic spectroscopy. The accompanying text is descriptive and only explains the underlying theory at a level which is sufficient to tackle the problems. The text includes condensed tables of characteristic spectral properties covering the frequently encountered functional groups. The examples themselves have been selected to include all important common structural features found in organic compounds and to emphasise connectivity arguments. Many of the compounds were synthesised specifically for this purpose. There are many more easy problems, to build confidence and demonstrate basic principles, than in other collections. The fifth edition of this popular textbook: * includes more than 250 new spectra and more than 25 completely new problems; * now incorporates an expanded suite of new problems dealing with the analysis of 2D NMR spectra (COSY, C H Correlation spectroscopy, HMBC, NOESY and TOCSY); * has been expanded and updated to reflect the new developments in NMR and to retire older techniques that are no longer in common use; * provides a set of problems dealing specifically with the quantitative analysis of mixtures using NMR spectros© * features proton NMR spectra obtained at 200, 400 and 600 MHz and 13C NMR spectra include DEPT experiments as well as proton-coupled experiments; * contains 6 problems in the style of the experimental section of a research paper and two examples of fully worked solutions. Organic Structures from Spectra, Fifth Edition will prove invaluable for students of Chemistry, Pharmacy and Biochemistry taking a first course in Organic Chemistry. Contents Preface Introduction Ultraviolet Spectroscopy Infrared Spectroscopy Mass Spectrometry Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy 2DNMR Problems Index Reviews from earlier editions "Your book is becoming one of the "go to" books for teaching structure determination here in the States. Great work!" "...I would definitely state that this book is the most useful aid to basic organic spectroscopy teaching in existence and I would strongly recommend every instructor in this area to use it either as a source of examples or as a class textbook". Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry "Over the past year I have trained many students using problems in your book - they initially find it as a task. But after doing 3-4 problems with all their brains activities... working out the rest of the problems become a mania. They get addicted to the problem solving and every time they solve a problem by themselves, their confident level also increases." "I am teaching the fundamentals of Molecular Spectroscopy and your books represent excellent sources of spectroscopic problems for students."
Publication Date: 2012
Interpretation of Organic Spectra
Although there are a number of books in this field, most of them lack an introduction of comprehensive analysis of MS and IR spectra, and others do not provide up-to-date information like tandem MS. This book fills the gap. The merit of this book is that the author will not only introduce knowledge for analyzing nuclear magnetic resonance spectra including 1H spectra (Chapter 1), 13C spectra (Chapter 2) and 2D NMR spectra (Chapter 3), he also arms readers systemically with knowledge of Mass spectra (including EI MS spectra and MS spectra by using soft ionizations) (Chapter 4) and IR spectra (Chapter 5). In each chapter the author presents very practical application skills by providing various challenging examples. The last chapter (Chapter 6) provides the strategy, skills and methods on how to identify an unknown compound through a combination of spectra. Based on nearly 40 years researching and teaching experience, the author also proposes some original and creative ideas, which are very practical for spectral interpretation.
Publication Date: 2011
Organic Spectroscopic Analysis
This introduction to organic spectroscopic analysis aims to provide the reader with a basic understanding of how nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), infrared (IR) and ultraviolet-visible (UV-Vis) spectroscopy, and mass spectrometry (MS) give rise to spectra, and how these spectra can be used to determine the structure of organic molecules. The text aims to lead the reader to an appreciation of the information available from each form of spectroscopy and an ability to use spectroscopic information in the identification of organic compounds. Aimed at undergraduate students, Organic Spectroscopic Analysis is a unique textbook containing large numbers of spectra, problems and marginal notes, specifically chosen to highlight the points being discussed. Ideal for the needs of undergraduate chemistry students, Tutorial Chemistry Texts is a major series consisting of short, single topic or modular texts concentrating on the fundamental areas of chemistry taught in undergraduate science courses. Each book provides a concise account of the basic principles underlying a given subject, embodying an independent-learning philosophy and including worked examples.
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds
First published over 40 years ago, this was the first text on the identification of organic compounds using spectroscopy. This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, as well as multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy. The key strength of this text is the extensive set of practice and real-data problems (in Chapters 7 and 8). Even professional chemists use these spectra as reference data. Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds is written by and for organic chemists, and emphasizes the synergistic effect resulting from the interplay of spectra. This text is characterized by its problem-solving approach with numerous practice problems and extensive reference charts and tables.
Organic Structures from Spectra
The derivation of structural information from spectroscopic data is now an integral part of organic chemistry courses at all Universities. A critical part of any such course is a suitable set of problems to develop the student's understanding of how structures are determined from spectra. Organic Structures from Spectra, Fifth Edition is a carefully chosen set of more than 280 structural problems employing the major modern spectroscopic techniques, a selection of 27 problems using 2D-NMR spectroscopy, more than 20 problems specifically dealing with the interpretation of spin-spin coupling in proton NMR spectra and 8 problems based on the quantitative analysis of mixtures using proton and carbon NMR spectroscopy. All of the problems are graded to develop and consolidate the student's understanding of organic spectroscopy. The accompanying text is descriptive and only explains the underlying theory at a level which is sufficient to tackle the problems. The text includes condensed tables of characteristic spectral properties covering the frequently encountered functional groups. The examples themselves have been selected to include all important common structural features found in organic compounds and to emphasise connectivity arguments. Many of the compounds were synthesised specifically for this purpose. There are many more easy problems, to build confidence and demonstrate basic principles, than in other collections. The fifth edition of this popular textbook: * includes more than 250 new spectra and more than 25 completely new problems; * now incorporates an expanded suite of new problems dealing with the analysis of 2D NMR spectra (COSY, C H Correlation spectroscopy, HMBC, NOESY and TOCSY); * has been expanded and updated to reflect the new developments in NMR and to retire older techniques that are no longer in common use; * provides a set of problems dealing specifically with the quantitative analysis of mixtures using NMR spectros© * features proton NMR spectra obtained at 200, 400 and 600 MHz and 13C NMR spectra include DEPT experiments as well as proton-coupled experiments; * contains 6 problems in the style of the experimental section of a research paper and two examples of fully worked solutions. Organic Structures from Spectra, Fifth Edition will prove invaluable for students of Chemistry, Pharmacy and Biochemistry taking a first course in Organic Chemistry. Contents Preface Introduction Ultraviolet Spectroscopy Infrared Spectroscopy Mass Spectrometry Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy 2DNMR Problems Index Reviews from earlier editions "Your book is becoming one of the "go to" books for teaching structure determination here in the States. Great work!" "...I would definitely state that this book is the most useful aid to basic organic spectroscopy teaching in existence and I would strongly recommend every instructor in this area to use it either as a source of examples or as a class textbook". Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry "Over the past year I have trained many students using problems in your book - they initially find it as a task. But after doing 3-4 problems with all their brains activities... working out the rest of the problems become a mania. They get addicted to the problem solving and every time they solve a problem by themselves, their confident level also increases." "I am teaching the fundamentals of Molecular Spectroscopy and your books represent excellent sources of spectroscopic problems for students."
Interpretation of Organic Spectra
Although there are a number of books in this field, most of them lack an introduction of comprehensive analysis of MS and IR spectra, and others do not provide up-to-date information like tandem MS. This book fills the gap. The merit of this book is that the author will not only introduce knowledge for analyzing nuclear magnetic resonance spectra including 1H spectra (Chapter 1), 13C spectra (Chapter 2) and 2D NMR spectra (Chapter 3), he also arms readers systemically with knowledge of Mass spectra (including EI MS spectra and MS spectra by using soft ionizations) (Chapter 4) and IR spectra (Chapter 5). In each chapter the author presents very practical application skills by providing various challenging examples. The last chapter (Chapter 6) provides the strategy, skills and methods on how to identify an unknown compound through a combination of spectra. Based on nearly 40 years researching and teaching experience, the author also proposes some original and creative ideas, which are very practical for spectral interpretation.
