Chemistry 2140: Organic Laboratory II

Provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

This freely available database contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties.There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.
Look up the journal article references in Article Finder to access the full text.

MU only has access to the free version of the Merck Index online which provides structure, molecular weight, molecular formula and percent composition for each chemical.
The print edition provides references for chemical preparation. The print edition can be checked out for 2 hours from the Checkout & Information Desk on 1st floor, Ellis Library just inside the north entrance. Check here to see if the book is currently available for you to check out. Scan down to the bottom of the page and check the status of the MU Ellis Library Reserve copy
Look up the journal article references for the preparation of a chemical in Article Finder to access the full text.

Major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature.

Contains a database of over 48000 reactions and around 3500 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches.

Listing of reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. Thousands of entries abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents, including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments, references and more.