Library Guides: Geology Graduate Guide: Home

About the Library

*The Geological Sciences library is located in room 201 of the Geological Sciences Building.

*Feel free to browse the stacks for books or use the MERLIN catalog to find a specific book.

*Need a book that is not available at the Mizzou libraries? Check the MOBIUS catalog to request it from a different Missouri library.

Quick Links

Find a Specific Article

Find a Journal

Find a Specific Book

Request an Item/ILL@MU

Created By

Julie Arndt

Graduate Assistant

Feb. 2013

Databases

Use these databases to find articles and journals on any Geology topic.

GeoScience World
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked and inter-operable with GeoRef.
Date Coverage: 1693-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation and Wildcard: *
GEOREF
GEOREF is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to serials and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1933-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Please see Google Scholar & Findit@MU for instructions on adding Findit@MU links to your Google Scholar page.
Date Coverage: NA
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Not supported

Geology Links
Links to more Geology centered resources such as journals, databases, digital libraries, and handbooks.

Miscellaneous Resources

MU Graduate School Electronic Theses and Dissertations in MOspace
MU dissertations and theses from 2004 to date. Browsable and searchable by advisor, subject, discipline and issue date.

Current Research@MU
Indexes MU dissertations from 1899 to present. Provides full-text of MU dissertations from 1995 to present. Print copies of pre-1995 MU dissertations are held at the UM Depository and can be requested using MERLIN.
Date Coverage: 1899-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
?

Search Guide: http://wwwlib.umi.com/cr/mo/help

Requesting Books and Articles
Receive books (that are not available through MERLIN or MOBIUS) and articles to help you with your research.

Subject Guide

Stephen Stanton

Email Me

Contact:

201 Geological Sciences

(573) 882-4860

Subjects: Geology, Physical Sciences

Citation Tools

Management tools like EndNote and Zotero allow you to save and store not only the citation and abstract information from articles, books and other materials, but often links to the actual fulltext of articles. These tools allow you to create your bibliography while you write and provide many other features.

EndNote
Zotero