Skip to main content

Cultural Artifacts in Historical Context: Finding Books

English 1000

Finding Books

MERLIN Catalog

MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla. When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System.

To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on the MOBIUS button found at the extreme top of the MU Libraries Gateway page. A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item is sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of the libraries on the MU campus. If the item that you want is not available at MU, or through the other MERLIN libraries, or even MOBIUS, you still may request the book through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding articles: Again, from the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Databases . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or kinds of information may also be included in some databases. In certain cases you will note that the fulltext of the item is available from the database, but more often than not, finding a citation is the first step of a search that will require you to search MERLIN to determine if we own the item in print.

Once you have the call number for an item that we own in print, consult one of the yellow location guides to determine on what floor in Ellis library the item of interest is held.

Selected Subject Headings

Einstein Albert 1879 1955
American poetry -- 20th century -- History and criticism -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Anti-communist movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century
Architecture, Domestic -- United States.
Art deco.
Arts, Modern -- 20th century.
Chrysler Building (New York, N.Y.) -- History.
Cold War.
Civil rights movements -- United States.
Commercial art -- History -- 20th century.
Okeeffe Georgia 1887 1986
Graphic arts -- History -- 20th century.
Hansberry Lorraine 1930 1965 Criticism And Interpretation
Hemingway Ernest 1899 1961 Criticism And Interpretation
Influenza Epidemic 1918 1919
John Paul Ii Pope 1920 2005 Travel United States
Miller Arthur 1915 2005 Criticism And Interpretation Abstracts
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Nineteen Sixties
Nineteen twenties
Popular music -- United States.
Prohibition -- United States.
Freud, Sigmund, 1856-1939.
Space Race United States History
Twentieth century --chronology
United States -- Economic conditions -- 1918-1945.
Vietnam Veterans Memorial (Washington, D.C.)
Williams Tennessee 1911 1983 Criticism And Interpretation
World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1939-1945
Wright Frank Lloyd 1867 1959 Criticism And Interpretation

 

Locate Books in Ellis Library (Location Guide)

Determine which floor holds a book in Ellis Library

Use the guide below to determine which floor of Ellis holds a particular call number.

B to HE contains B, BA, BB, BC.. C, D, .. H, HA, HB, .. HE
2 East = 2nd floor of Ellis, East book stacks.
HSL = Health Sciences Library

AC to AZ 4 East
B to HE 3 East
HF to LT 2 East
M to NX 4 East
P to PG 2A West
PH to PQ 2999 3 Central
PQ 3000 to QK 2 East
QL to QR 2 Central
QS to QZ HSL
R to RZ 2 Central
S to SK 2 West
T to TX 1A West
U to VM 1 West
W to WZ HSL
Z to ZA 1 West