Cultural Artifacts in Historical Context: Home

• American Decades
  Provides information about what was going on in the United States decade by decade from 1900 to 1999. Includes information on the arts, business, fashion, politics, sports, religion, science, social trends, education and media. Physical volumes are shelved in the Ready Reference shelves (Ellis Library 1st floor south) at the call number E169.12 .A419 1994.
• Encyclopedia of American activism, 1960 to the present
  Ref JK 1764 .D53 1998
• Encyclopedia of American architecture
  Ref NA 705 .P3 1995
• Encyclopedia of American business
  Ref HF 1001 .E463 2004
• Encyclopedia of American civil liberties
  Ref KF 4747.5 .E53 2006
• The Encyclopedia of American comics
  Spec Comics PN 6725 .E64 1990
• Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intelllectual History
  Ref E 169.1 .E624 2001
• Encyclopedia of American folk art
  Ellis NK 805 .E6 2004
• Encyclopedia of American humorists
  Ellis PS 430 .E53 1988
• Encyclopedia of American Social History
  Ref HN 57 .E58 1993
• Encyclopedia of Asian-American literature
  Ellis PS153.A84 O37 2007
• Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War
  Ref UF 500 .G8 1995
• Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
  Ref DS 557.7 .E53 1998
• Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict
  Ref HM 291 .E625 1991
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
• Index to the New York Times (Mid 19th through 20th century)
  SPEC REF AND Depository AI 21 .N44
• Index to The Times (Indexes The Times, 1957-1972)
  SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
• Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper (Indexes The Times 1791-1938)
  SPEC REF AI 21 .T5
• Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Late 19th-date)
  Ready Ref AI 3 .R48
• The Scribner encyclopedia of American lives. Sports figures
• The Times (London) (1789-2003)
  SPEC FILM
• The United States and the First World War: An Encyclopedia
  Ref D 510 .U65 1995
• World War II: The Encyclopedia of the War Years, 1941-1945
  Ref D 743.5 .P57 1996

Boolean Logic

• Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

• A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

• TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases

• TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database

• Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

My Library Accounts

Hours

Maps

Google Directory