Library Guides: Chemical Engineering 4980W, Process Synthesis and Design: Home

Writing & Citing

A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by David F. Beer; David A. McMurrey
Call Number: T11 .B396 2014
ISBN: 9781118300275
Written for engineers, this book provides more than technical know-how and focuses on how to be an effective communicator.
Engineering Writing by Design by Edward J. Rothwell; Michael J. Cloud
Call Number: T11 .R67 2014
ISBN: 9781498700955
Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value demonstrates how effective writing can be achieved through engineering-based thinking. Based on the authors' combined experience as engineering educators, the book presents a novel approach to technical writing, positioning formal writing tasks as engineering design problems with requirements, constraints, protocols, standards, and customers (readers) to satisfy.
A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists by Robert E. Berger
ISBN: 9781118899793
Publication Date: 2014-05-21

Recommended Databases for Articles

Scopus
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: http://help.scopus.com/robo/projects/schelp/tutorials/sc_menu.htmlInteractive Tutorials

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Engineering Village
Multidisciplinary applied engineering, mathematical, and physical and materials science databases. Cross searches Compendex (engineering), Knovel (STEM ebooks), and Georef (geology, geography, physical sciences).
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1970-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
User's Guide: http://ei.org/Support_Training
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry.
Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1965-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
License Terms: http://merlin.missouri.edu/node/423
Search Guide: http://www.csa.com/help/index.html#Search_Tools/fielded_search.html
SciFinder-n
Upgraded interface for Scifinder, a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents, chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and NMR spectra content. (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878).
Requires registration using your MU email. (Note: Your Scifinder user name and password will work for Scifinder-n).
Registration: http://merlin.missouri.edu/sfs/scifinder_web.php

Date Coverage: 1907-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

License Terms: http://merlin.missouri.edu/node/439

Search Guide: http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/htguides.html
Knovel
A database of e-books and includes: ASHRAE Handbooks, ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, and Transportation Engineering.
Free account can be created for personalization
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
Tutorial: https://service.elsevier.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14354/supporthub/knovel/

ASM Handbook Online
A comprehensive guide to compositions, properties, performance, and selection of cast irons, carbon and low-alloy steels, tool steels, stainless steels, and superalloys. Contains 1,328 illustrations (photographs, charts, and graphs). More than 500 tables provide extensive data for alloy designations, compositions, and mechanical and physical properties.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco

License Terms: http://www.more.net/online/contractinfo.html