Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical Engineering 4980W, Process Synthesis and Design: Production, Processing & Economics

Production, Processing, Design

Rules of thumb for chemical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday process engineering problems
 TP151.R85 2005

Chemical Process Equipment : Selection and Design
Practical guide to the selection and design of a wide range of chemical process equipment. Emphasis is placed on real-world process design and performance of equipment.
TP157.C414 2010

Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry, 10th ed., 2007 (Engineering Reference)
Provides overview of the chemical process industry. Includes chapters on waste minimization, safety considerations for chemical plant design and operations, emergency planning, statistical applications in quality control, industry economics and wastewater treatment.
ENGR Reference TP 145.R54 2007 (2 volumes)

Plant design and economics for chemical engineers
“One-stop” guide to chemical process design and evaluation:  process synthesis, computer-aided design, and design of chemical reactors, economic analysis, equipment sizing and cost estimation with numerous real examples throughout the book including computer or hand solution. Emphasis on computer use in design, economic evaluation, and optimization.
ENGR TP155.5 .P4 2003 (Ch: 6-8)

Handbooks online


CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (87th edition, 2005-2006)
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Searchable by name, formula, or CAS number. The online version includes interactive tables that may be filtered or exported.

Chemical Properties Handbook
Information on how chemicals behave at different temperatures and under different conditions is often hard-to-find and difficult to calculate. Covers both organic (C1 to C28) and inorganic (Ag to Zn) substances, and provides both experimental values based on methods developed by the author and other noted experts.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(5th edition, 2001)
Premier source of general information on chemical substances, industrial processes, and on unit operations and processes of chemical engineering.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (8th edition, 2008)
Focuses on chemical and physical property data, the fundamentals of chemical engineering, and processes: heat transfer operations, distillation, kinetics,liquid-liquid, liquid-solid, and so on. The online edition includes interactive tables and tables with equation plotter.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (15th edition, 1999)
Covers the entire field of chemistry with facts, figures, values, tables and formulas. Included are listings of the properties of approximately 4,300 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. This online edition includes several interactive tables.