Library Guides: English 2180: Female Futures: Popular Reviews

Book Reviews: Popular Writing

In contrast to scholarly writing, book reviews are more immediate and often reflect a more popular response to a work.

Why look for book reviews?

It can take years for scholarly work to be published, so recent books may not have much written about them yet.
You might want to look at the more popular response to a work, even if it was written long ago.

The following databases and print indexes will help you locate reviews of specific books or interviews with authors. The databases usually have a tick box or drop-down menu that allows you to limit your search to reviews or interviews.

Factiva
Current online access to more than 32,000 sources: newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
License Terms: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/proquestlicense.htm
License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.
User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
MasterFile Premier
Full text of nearly 1750 general interest magazines and journals.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1984-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
License Terms: https://www.more.net/content/service-policies
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Historical indexing of American popular general interest magazine. No full text, but FindIt@MU links will guide you to the articles online or in print.
Date Coverage: 1890-1982

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review Index, 1980-1984
Call Number: Room 202 PN3433.8 .H343 1985
SFBRI : Science fiction book review index.
Call Number: Dep. Z5917.S36 S19
1970-72, 1977

Early Criticism & Reviews

To find reviews from 19th century and early 20th century periodicals, use these databases:

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Includes Palmer's Index to The Times, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, and Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, among others.
Date Coverage: 1790-1919

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://c19index.chadwyck.com/help/contents.jsp
British Periodicals
Offers facsimile page images and searchable full text.
Date coverage: 17th - early 20th century.
American Periodical Series Online
A full-text collection resources that chronicle the development of America across 150 years that include digitized images of the pages of magazines and journals.
Date Coverage: 1741 - 1900

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: * ; Wildcard: ?

License Terms: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/proquestlicense.htm
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
Contains full-text magazines published from 1684 through 1912, and collected by the American Antiquarian Society, reflecting many subjects surrounding the development of the United States.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
Features wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Coverage Dates: 1825-1995
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *
Wildcard: ?