Skip to Main Content

English 2180: Female Futures

Reference Shelf: Guides to Science Fiction & Fantasy

SFE: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Literature Online
Click on the Reference tab to search within specialized encyclopedias and guides, such as The Cambridge Companion to American Science Fiction.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Formerly known as LION
Date Coverage: Varies by section
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Gale eBooks
GVRL is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources, such as Feminism in Literature: a Gale Critical Companion.
Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Anatomy of Wonder 4: a critical guide to science fiction
Call Number: Ref. PN3433.8 .A53 1995
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Call Number: Ref. PS374.S35 D33 2005
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy
Call Number: Ref. PS374.S35 G74 2005
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Literature
Call Number: PN3433.4 .S73 2004

Biographical Resources

Many of the general guides will provide biographical information about authors, but the following are dedicated to biographical information.

Literature Online
Literature Online provides "author pages" among other things. In the main search screen, in the lower left, tick "author pages" as the content type. You may find additional biographical information by unticking "author pages" and in the document type box tick "biography" and "obituary".
Free account can be created for personalization.
Formerly known as LION
Date Coverage: Varies by section
Maximum Users: 4
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?

Resources from Daniel Boone Regional Library
Our local public library has some resources that we do not! Biography in Context and the Literature Resource Center both provide biographical information. You'll need a public library card to access these. Get one here: https://www.dbrl.org/library-card-application

Science Fiction Authors
Call Number: PR830.S35 H43 2009