Newspapers and Magazines - HIST 4971 - European History Capstone: The Modern City - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Online Newspapers

London Times Digital Archive
Covers 1785-2013

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Chicago Defender (1909-1975), the St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1995). These are not European newspapers, but they will cover European cities and events.

Deutsches Zeitungsportal
Historical newspapers from 1671-1950. German and English interfaces are available. Newspapers are predominantly German language, but English is the second most common language, followed by French and Spanish. Search terms appear highlighted in results. Text version is helpful for readers who have trouble deciphering Fraktur. Newspapers may be browsed by title, place of publication, and year.

Do We Have 19th-Century Newspapers (or other periodicals) for My European City?

1. Start at http://library.missouri.edu

2. Go to LOOKING FOR? > A specific journal (toward lower right of page)

3. Enter the name of your city in the search box.

4. Check results list for 19th-century newspapers and periodicals

Partially Online Newspapers, Print, and Microfilm

Center for Research Libraries: Newspapers
Newspapers may be browsed by country; multiple volumes may be requested via interlibrary loan.
Europeana Newspapers By Country
Explore newspaper titles by their country of origin. The newspapers with the highest amount of issues will appear first. To see more, click the 'see more titles' link.

Popular Magazines

Your ability to read popular magazines in the country you're interested in will depend on your knowledge of the language(s) of that country. A few indexing sources and magazines include:

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Includes Palmer's Index to The Times, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, and Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, among others.
Date Coverage: 1790-1919

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Help: http://c19index.chadwyck.com/help/contents.jsp
American Periodicals
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. These are U.S. publications but they will also cover European cities and events.
Date Coverage: 1741 - 1900

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: * ; Wildcard: ?