HIST 4971 - European History Capstone: The Modern City

Over 4 million photographs from the first 100 years of European photography.

Over 300,000 maps, globes and charts from EU countries

Collection of 100,000 primarily British and American advertisements, posters, and magazine covers. Mostly commercial images, but some political ads and posters are also included. Optional free registration to see larger images.

is a database of nearly every newsreels and news magazine issued in Britain between 1910 and 1983, and is managed by the British Universities Film & Video Council. The database is more accurate when it comes to issue dates and issue numbers than is sometimes the case with the newsreel libraries themselves, and as well as these records there are 80,000 digitised production documents (including scripts) and links through to playable copies at British Pathé and Movietone. There is also much background history on the newsreels, including biographies, essays and oral history recordings.

British Pathé is the dominant force for online newsreels. The Pathé Gazette (later Pathé News) newsreel ran in Britain between 1910-1970. Most of its twice-weekly issues have survived and have been digitised and made available online - some 3,500 hours, or 90,000 individual items.

British Movietone News was the first sound newsreel in Britain, and ran 1929-1979. Its entire run has been digitized and made freely available (to use the site requires registration first), though its primary purpose is commercial sales.

The online archive of the Italian stated-owned Luce company contains seventy years of newsreels, from the late 1920s onwards. The site is in Italian, but is easy enough to negotiate, and there is plenty of material there from around the world, as well as naturally enough having excellent coverage of Italian life and politics.

This is an archive of the German Deutsche Wocheschau newsreel. Over 6,000 stories have been made available to date, with additional material going back to 1895 and up to 1990. There is English language as well as German text, but unfortunately little informastion is given on the newsreels and the image quality is very low (and requires Windows Media Player).

FLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.