Business, Economy, Non-Profits - Journalism - FIGs: Finding & Evaluating Information - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Business, Economy & Non-Profits

Find a Missouri business

Business entity search for Missouri (all businesses in Missouri must register with the Secretary of State)

Find information about a Columbia Missouri business

Find Information about Missouri businesses

Missouri Business Alert - sign up to receive information
Entrepreneurship links from Trulaske School of Business
REDI | Regional Economic Development, Inc.
Columbia Chamber of Commerce

OpenCorporates claims to be the largest database of companies in the world, gathering data from government and publicly available information.

Yahoo Finance an excellent source for company information.

United States Securities & Exchange Commission's Database of Public Company Filings

EDGAR (Securities & Exchange Commission's database of electronic public company filings)

Finding Business Information Online created by the Business/Economics Librarian.

United States Government Agencies Dedicated to Tax Collection, Finance, Economics, & Labor

Global Business & Economic Data Sources

GlobalEDGE - Search global data and insights by country, state, trade bloc, economic classification, industry. From the Broad College of Business at Michigan State University. Requires registration.
Quandl - free global financial, economic and social data.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 2,200 peer-reviewed and trade business journals. Also included are company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analysis.
EconLit
EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date.
eMarketer
eMarketer is a business information service that aggregates, filters and analyzes research pertaining to the digital marketplace. They gather both domestic and global information from more than 4,000 different trusted sources and organize it into different content such as analyst reports, charts, articles, interviews and more.
Factiva
Factiva provides access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides reports for all of the 723 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). IBISWorld research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts.
Mergent Online
Updated weekly. Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, number of shareholders, address, telephone number, annual stock price ranges, trustee, registrar, transf
Mintel
Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts. Also included are management and company reports for companies mentioned in the reports.
RedBooks.com
Advertising RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 10,000 US and international advertising agencies as well as information and adspend on nearly 15,000 US and international advertisers, 200,000 personnel and 100,00 brands.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and secto

Nonprofits & Charities

Nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) status are required to file Form 990, Return of Organizations Exempt from Income Tax, with the IRS. The form includes financial statements and background information on the nonprofit, including salaries of key employees (i.e. director, head, officers).

CitizenAudit.org is currently the only freely available full-text searchable database of full digitized nonprofit financials, with PDFs of the 990 forms back to about 2002, was created by Washington DC based reporter Luke Rosiak.

ProPublica's 990 Explorer

The Foundation Center provides a funder free search. Find funder by name, state, or zip and drill down to the 990 to find funding recipients.

The GuideStar National Database of Nonprofit Organizations requires free registration.

Search Google using 990 and the name of the nonprofit.

Find a Missouri Charity (all charities must register with the Missouri Attorney General's Office unless they are religious or education)

Missouri Attorney General's Office " Check a Charity" Database

Missouri Charity Vault

Missouri Secretary of State Business Entity Search Database (nonprofit corporations must register with the Missouri Secretary of State and can be found in the business entity database)

More Resources for Locating Information about Charities

Charity Navigator provides free charity ratings

Missouri Association of Community Arts Agencies