Journalism - FIGs: Finding & Evaluating Information

• US Newsstream

  • 

  ProQuest Newsstand contains over 1169 newspapers, 134 trade journals, 62 general interest periodicals, 134 blogs, podcasts, and websites. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news.
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers

  • 

  Searchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2001), The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003) and The Chicago Tribune (1849-1994).
• Newspaper Source

  • 

  Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. Access provide by MOREnet.
• NewsBank

  • 

  Newsbank includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers.

   

The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations.