Library Guides: Antitrust Law: Secondary Sources

Guides and Treatises

Antitrust Law by Philip E. Areeda & Herbert Hovenkamp
ISBN: 9780735564282
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
Areeda & Hovenkamp's treatise is perhaps the most comprehensive source on the law of antitrust. It is considered a source of authority, and has been cited over 100 times by the Federal Trade Commission and the Supreme Court. It covers a wide breadth of information; from antitrust's objectives and remedies to an indepth look a various antitrust violations, such as tying agreements, price fixing, and exclusive dealing. It is perhaps not the best source for a beginner, because of its sheer depth; however, if you're looking for more information on a specific topic, or seeking to gain a complete understanding of the law, it's the source for you. This treatise is available on Wolters Kluwer Cheetah.

Antitrust Law Handbook by William C. Holmes & Melissa Mangiaracina
ISBN: 9780314869142
Publication Date: 2017-12-00
For a breezy introduction to the law of antitrust consider this handbook. It provides a snapshot of modern developments, an overview of the most commonly litigated parts of the Sherman Act, the Clayton Act, and the Federal Trade Commission, defenses and exceptions to antitrust violations, and, finally, litigation procedure. This guide takes a pragmatic approach to the law of antitrust, and is excellent for a beginner. It can be accessed with a subscription to westlaw.
Federal Antitrust Law by Earl W. Kintner; Joseph P. Bauer
ISBN: 9780870844515
Publication Date: 1989-09-01
This treatise offers another comprehensize overview of the law of antitrust. It offers 73 chapters which cover antitrust from bottom to top. It begins with economic theory and antitrust's common law roots, and then moves on to cover the Sherman Act, Clayton Act, and the Federal Trade Commision. In so doing, it details the various antitrust offenses and defenses, government action, and litigation procedure. This treatise will make for a valuable alternative to Areeda & Hovenkamp for those with a LexisNexis subscription.

Periodical Materials

Contained here are a couple of periodicals which are dedicated to antitrust.

The antitrust law journal is published by the American Bar Association. The link above is to JSTOR which has archived journals from previous years.

2. The Journal of Competition Law and Economics

Published Oxford University, it a quarterly journal that contains peer reviewed articles on competition law.

Resource Materials

1. The American Bar Association

Here you will find a free collection of antitrust resources, ranging from briefs, to audio, to a searchable library.

2. Wulters Klower Cheetah

This resource center requires a subscription to Cheetah, but Mizzou students have access! It provides a series of practice series, including one for antitrust.

3. Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg offers an excellent Antitrust & Trade regulation resource center, from which you can research news, cases, litigation statistics, and portfolios for niche issues. It does require a subscription; however Mizzou Law students have access!

Antitrust Law: Secondary Sources

Overview

Guides and Treatises

Periodical Materials

Resource Materials