Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism - Resources for Journalism Undergraduates

Collections


For a more in depth look at our collections, please visit the Collections Libguide. Each collection is divided into a tab in the Collections Libguide.

Newspapers:

The Journalism Library subscribes both domestic and international print newspapers. Domestic papers are arranged alphabetically by city and international papers by country in the newspaper display cabinet across from the public services desk. Access to digital newspapers and newswires is available to journalism library customers through Factiva, Lexis Nexis Academic, Proquest News Stand and PressDisplay.

Print Journals/Magazines/Periodicals:

Most academic journals are now available online via the online catalog (MERLIN), but many professional and trade journals are still available only in print.  Print journals are displayed on the southeast wall of the library’s main floor, visible when entering the library.

Reference Collection:

The journalism library has a small print reference collection on the main level.  Many classic print titles are now available online, either through the online catalog or database page.

Reserve Materials:

While the journalism library still has a number of print titles, especially photojournalism books on reserve behind the public services desk, most items are accessible through electronic reserves (Eres) which provides 24/7 access for students on or off campus.  Other items on reserve for checkout are:  cameras, video cameras, tripods, microphones, laptop computers, laptop accessories, digital audio recorders, headphones, IPads, etc.

Technology:

The journalism library has 37 computers (17 iMacs, 20 Macbook laptops) with a full suite of multimedia software, 1 color flatbed scanner, black & white and color laser printers, 5-52” flat screen TVs, and a microfilm reader/scanner.

Masters Projects/Masters Theses/Dissertations:

Journalism library master’s students may choose to write a thesis or do a project.  Print and digital theses, dissertations and projects are available through the online catalog. Newer (after 2005) digital theses, dissertations and projects are available through MOSpace, the institutional repository for the University of Missouri’s scholarly output.

  • Print master’s projects from 2007 to 2012 are available in the journalism library. Older projects can be requested through Merlin from the depository.

Books/ebooks/Collections:

The journalism library has an on-site collection of over 30,000 print books.  It includes the working collection of journalism, communication, and strategic communication books as well as the Betty Winfield Political Communication and Mass Media History Collection, and a growing 4000-volume journalism fiction collection. The Steve Weinberg Journalism Fiction Collection, named for journalist and author, Steve Weinberg, is a collection of novels with primary characters depicted as journalists.  These books are housed in state-of-the-art compact shelving with one-touch electronic movement and passive laser safety system.

Students and faculty also have access to a growing e-book collection, including reference titles, available 24/7.

The library also houses the largest academic photojournalism collection including photojournalism books from the Jack and Dorothy Fields, Pictures of the Year International, and the Angus and Betty McDougall Photojournalism collections.  This is only fitting since Photojournalism as an academic subject was born at the Missouri School of Journalism.

In addition to these collections, the journalism library has a substantial historical collection of typography books.  Since the journalism library collection is over 100 years old, several thousand books and periodicals are either in the MU Libraries’ Special Collections or safely stored in off-site storage where temperature and humidity levels are closely monitored.

 

Contact Us

Journalism Library

Email us at jlib@missouri.edu

Library: 573-882-7502

Vera Elwood
Head, Journalism Library
103A Reynolds Journalism Institute
Phone: 573-882-6591
Email: velwood@missouri.edu

Sandy Schiefer
Journalism Librarian
103B Reynolds Journalism Institute
Phone: 573-882-0660
email: schiefers@missouri.edu

 

Follow us on