Journalism - Missourian Newspaper: Missourian Theses & Dissertations

"This project looks at how one particular newspaper has made changes in an attempt to embrace what seems to be the future of news -- the Internet ... The purpose of this paper is to look at how this change affected the content of the Missourian. It includes an analysis of measurable ways that both print and online content were affected by the new philosophy. It also includes transcripts of interviews with Missourian editors, both to enrich the analysis and to record how the Missourian staff was feeling at an interesting moment in the 100-year-old history of the organization."--Page 3.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a copy editor at The Kansas City Star from August 27-November 22, 2007. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the analysis component the author examines how the football team and volleyball team from the University of Missouri--Columbia are framed within the pages of the Columbia Missourian and the Columbia Daily Tribune. The mass media theory of framing is the act of selecting events to cover and the process used to edit that coverage to fit within time or space constraints. This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working at the Columbia Missourian in three different areas of news coverage. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component entitled, "Graphic reporting: a different kind of journalism," the author examines several aspects of graphic journalism.

Author's experiences as newspaper editor on a race beat at the Columbia Missourian and analysis of news frames used when reporting on race by the Washington Post and the Akron Beacon. Includes field notes, stories, and analysis.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences assuming responsibility for, and eventually redesigning, Boone Life, a weekly slice-of-life photo-driven column in the Columbia Missourian. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the research component the author examines "the multi-faceted question ..., how well do visual columnists think they cover their community, does their coverage provide an added service to the newspaper and the readers, and what factors, if any, prevent them from doing the stories they want to do?" (p. 25) This section includes a literature review and transcripts of interviews.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences as a reporter and assistant city editor for the NewSunday, a new weekly publication of the Columbia Missourian. Field notes and samples of work are included. Both products are put out by the same editorial staff. "On one hand, the Missourian produces a daily, chasing breaking news and applying a daily turnaround frame. On the other, it produces a weekly magazine-like Sunday newspaper that requires a different way of thinking of the news" (p. 21). "The NewSunday calls for different routines and a shake-up in the traditional way of looking at the news. When the same group of people is trying to handle both a new product that brings about change, while at the same time continuing a traditional line of work in the daily paper, tension and confusion are bound to appear. Using observation and in-depth interviews, this professional analysis will show what the personal and professional impact the addition of the NewSunday Missourian has on the editors already involved in the daily newspaper" (p. 29). This section includes a literature review.

Newsroom research has begun to place a focus on digital news archival practices, attempting to identify ways to best preserve what many consider the first draft of history. This study refines the concept of archiving by placing emphasis on emerging still photography archives both on an individual level and on an organizational level to identify the best possible practices for visual archive development. In-depth interviews were conducted to examine the best practices for visual archiving amongst individual photojournalists and media organizations, using prior experience with Columbia Missourian archives as reference material to draw comparative analysis from. Following the theoretical framework of diffusion of innovations, this results of this study suggest that archival development and implementation gains more importance as technological growth continues, even in the presence of a fading industry workforce. Emerging archival programs can benefit from this research by heeding their peers' advice for proper archival methodology, structuring, indexing and management techniques while also acknowledging the need for a 'champion' of archival practices within the organization to further the protection of the visual archive.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. For the professional work component the author created an all-business-news web site from scratch, Columbia Business Inter@ctive, using content of KOMU, the Columbia Missourian and the Mid-Missouri Business Journal, and managed and updated the site. Includes field notes and examples of work. For the research component the author constructed an e-mail survey on the web site, taking each element of the site and asking the subject how much he/she valued each one and also asked other questions such as when they logged into the Internet and the web site, what their favorite national and local business news sites were, and open-ended questions about what they liked most and least about the web site. The information was gathered and analyzed. Includes a literature review and copy of survey.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a member of the redesign committee for the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component the author looks "at the Maestro Concept in terms of its success or failure at the Springfield (Mo.) News-Leader and its possible implementation at the Missourian." (project report p. 7) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences using computer-assisted reporting to produce several stories on various subjects to be published in the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component entitled "Falling in love with the numbers: the pitfalls of writing a computer-assisted story", the author examines what it takes to produce a good computer-assisted story and what pitfalls to watch out for by interviewing several reporters who use computer-assisted reporting. Includes interview transcripts.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences covering religion at the Columbia Missourian. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the analysis component the author studies "what type of religion stories newspaper readers say they want to read as compared to what types of religion stories editors think readers want to read." (p. 10) This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences as a cops and courts reporter at the Columbia Missourian from January 22 through April 21. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the analysis component the author conducts a content analysis of the Columbia Missourian's treatment of ethnic minorities. This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences overseeing the production of the Columbia Missourian's feature pages. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the analysis component the author conducts "interviews with senior editors at half a dozen newspapers that embrace public journalism techniques, ... [asking] them how practices associated with public journalism have changed their newsrooms, what kinds of changes they have made since the introduction of the movement, whether they still practice it, how financial problems or cutbacks have affected their projects, and whether an editor's relocation has changed the newspaper's philosophy. ... (p. 4) This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences updating and revising the "Columbia Missourian Handbook of Local Style" to the much more complete, "A Comprehensive Guide to Mid-Missouri and the Columbia Missourian." Field notes and revised handbook are included. In the research component the author examines why many newspapers in the mid-1990s that switched from a traditional copy desk to a team copy editing approach, eventually went back to a more universal and traditional system. This section includes a literature review and interview transcripts.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a reporter covering Missouri's U.S. Senate gubernatorial elections for the Columbia Missourian, Missouri Digital News (mdn.org) and the Missouri Press Organization. Includes examples of work. For the research component the author organized a forum with the state party leaders and the state's key political reporters. Includes a literature review and transcript of forum.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. For the professional work component entitled, "Five-year marketing plan for the Columbian Missourian: a creative project," the author created an actual plan, which is included. In the research component entitled, "'Product-feature' versus 'image-only' advertising in newspaper brand building: An [sic] simple experiment," the author studied "key recommendations regarding in-paper promotion of newspaper 'brand image,' ... [by devising] a simple experiment ... to test the effect of 'selling' specific content in an upcoming edition versus a generic traditional appeal to simply read and/or subscribe to the newspaper. In a between subjects design, all participants were assigned to read a portion of an authentic-looking--but fabricated--newspaper page containing an identical feature-type news story and one of two advertisements. The first ad promoted a specific story coming in 'tomorrow's edition.' The second ad attempted to raise the 'image' of the newspaper as a whole with a traditional appeal to the read the paper." (p. 2 of this section) This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working with the Neighborhoods project of the Columbia Missourian, which gathers and reports neighborhood news for targeted neighborhoods in Columbia, Missouri. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the research and analysis component the author examines how hyperlocal content providers build sustainable media operations. An appendix includes a toolkit (guidebook) for producing and developing a hyperlocal news project.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences as editor of Vox magazine, a publication of the Columbia Missourian. Field notes and samples of work are included. The analysis component investigates "how city magazine editors use fact checking to prevent false information from being published. This ... analysis will focus on the specific techniques used to ensure accuracy through an examination of the fact-checking guidelines and policies in place at city magazines and the reasoning behind these policies." (p. 94) This section includes a literature review and interview transcripts.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research (or analysis) component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as an intern at the Columbia Missourian. It includes field notes and examples of work. In the research (or analysis) component the author examines the concept of kinship with documentary photography

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as Acting Director of Photography at the Columbia Missourian and overseeing the photography editing. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research (or analysis) component the author examines the future of photo editing in the current digital environment. Includes a literature review, interviews with experienced photo editors and a professional analysis article entitled: The Future of Picture Editing in a Digital Age. Accompanying CD-ROM contains photographs in digital format, sound files of interviews, 'Missourian Book of Knowledge' documents for staff orientation and newsroom work flow, Show Me State Games 2010 schedules, articles and photographer assignment documents, digital images of work produced, and training materials for Missourian photographers.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working at Vox magazine, an alternative newsweekly magazine published by the Columbia Missourian, as the design director. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the research component the author poses the question "How do news readers read maps in news publications?" (p. 33) This section includes a literature review and copy of originally proposed project entitled "Reception analysis of reader responses to maps in the news."

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a graphic journalist on "The American Next" project for the Columbia Missourian. The author created a series of interactive information graphics using Javascript for a series of stories that focused on "what the American Dream means to people between the ages of 16-35, and how they are going about trying to achieve their version of the American Dream." (p. 10) This project was part of a special master's class in partnership with the Public Insight Network of American Public Media. (p. 32) Infographics illustrated the relationships between race, education level, health insurance coverage, poverty, and unemployment by Missouri county. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the analysis component the author examines the current practices of using refers or teasers to connect readers of print newspapers to the news outlet's website. The author interviews the front-page designers at seven national and regional newspapers about "their publication's efforts concerning print refers to online content" and discovered that while each newspaper used print refers differently, the use of QR codes is "growing, with mixed success" and "larger papers tend to think about the usefulness and value of refers more than small regional papers" (p. 64). Includes a literature review and interview notes. Also includes article written by author entitled "Getting readers from print to web : the use of teasers to online content in print newspapers."

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. For the professional work component the author wrote a series of stories focusing on the environmental aspect of sprawl--specifically storm water for The Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component the author poses these questions: "How do reporters assess their relationship with sources? ... How do journalists use computer-assisted reporting techniques as part of their newsgathering routines? ... Do reporters think CAR [computer-assisted reporting] has changed the relationships they have with sources?" (p. 91-92) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences writing an investigative story for the Columbia Missourian on the lease agreement between Boone Hospital Center and BJC Health Systems. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component the author tests "Ettema and Glasser's theory that the use of irony in investigative journalism creates political cynicism in contemporary readers. Measuring irony's effect on outrage and credibility [adds] to the usefulness of this study by showing how irony affects two investigative journalism's primary goals: to create outrage in readers and to retain news credibility." (p. 8) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a copy-editor at MSNBC.com. Includes field notes and examples of sports writing work and clippings of newspaper articles by the author from the Columbia Missourian, as well as three class assignments. In the research/scholarly paper component, entitled "Making news interactive," the author examines the tools and techniques recommended for online journalism. Includes a discussion of various software applications and suggested journalistic approaches and techniques.

Introduction to master's project. Field notes ; Professional component evaluation ; Substantial physical evidence ; The five-minute stylebook ; Columbia Missourian stylebook, May 2009 -- Research component. Introduction ; Literature review ; Methodology ; Analysis and conclusions ; Research evaluation -- Appendices. Approved project proposal ; Changes to original proposal ; General interview questions ; Interview transcripts : Joe Hudson, Alex Cruden, Jim Keyser ; Other stylebooks' preferred term entries : Detroit free press, The Denver post, Portland press herald/Maine Sunday telegram -- Publication query letter -- References.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences helping to prepare for the implementation of Junit publishing platform at the Columbia Missourian and includes field notes and examples of work. The research and analysis component includes the author's paper detailing his experiences working with the new Junit publishing platform at the Columbia Missourian and a literature review on technology adoption in newsrooms and theories on diffusion of innovations.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences editing the weekly Showcase feature at the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component the author examines management styles at award-winning newsrooms, focusing on the maestro method of newsroom management. Includes a literature review and interviews with managing editors from newspapers which consistently win acclaim in the "best use of photography" division of the Pictures of the Year competition.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a copy and production editor for "The America Next" project at the Columbia Missourian in partnership with the Missouri School of Journalism and American Public Media's Public Insight Network. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the analysis component the author examines the correction policies of ten United States news organizations, including five with print and online operations and five online-only publications. She notes that "accuracy is one of the key tenets in journalism, mentioned in numerous creeds and codes of ethics throughout the profession." (p. 3) The results indicated inconsistencies in current correction practices. The author includes best online correction practices for use by newsrooms. Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences as managing editor of Weekend magazine, the Friday arts and entertainment city magazine of the Columbia Missourian. The responsibilities included all aspects of production and editing. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component entitled, "Managing advertising resources at Weekend magazine," the author examines "recent advertising sales of Weekend magazine, as well as those of competing publications, and compare[s] them to the cost of producing each issue of Weekend magazine. Further, ... [the author] ... consider[s] possible solutions for increasing low ad sales, which will, in turn, affect overall revenue and ensure the continuation of Weekend magazine as a functioning clinic for student writers, photographers, editors and designers." (p. 98)

Describes internship at the Columbia Missourian in which author designed newspaper pages that would appeal to teenagers and encourage them to read the newspaper. Teenage subjects were students at Hickman High School and Rock Bridge High School, Columbia, Missouri. Includes field notes, prototypes, transcripts and analysis.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. For the professional work component the author developed and created a newspaper for children in the Columbia Missourian, called miniMO. Includes field notes and examples of work in pockets For the research component the author conducted focus groups to determine whether elementary-age students were interested in a newspaper for themselves, whether they would read it and if they liked it. Includes a literature review and transcripts from focus groups.

This journalism master's project consists of developing a market plan and an advertising plan for the Columbia Missourian. In order to put together an advertising plan, it is necessary to determine how people in the community perceive the paper. The author accomplished this by conducting five focus groups. Includes field notes, examples of work, a literature review and author's notes from the focus groups.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a wire editor for the Columbia Missourian. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the analysis component the author examines whether there is still a market for national and international news coverage in a local daily newspaper and what this coverage needs to do to compete with online and television sources. This section includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component was " the creation of the position of new media editor at the Columbia Missourian. ... The purpose of the new media editor position was to create new content for an existing online publication, the Columbia Missourian. The project added a set of photojournalism web pages for news, pictures of the week, a photo column, sports and features to the existing site newspaper website to improve the use of photography on the website." (p. v) Includes field notes and examples of work. "The research component the author investigated photojournalism at the websites of the largest 100 newspapers in the United States. This research surveys picture editors, managing editors and directors of photography to find out how pictures are chosen for publication in the varied forms of visual web storytelling. The survey addresses three broad categories of questions: 1) Understanding where/how pictures are used on the websites, 2) Understanding who does the work of editing and creating to produce the picture projects online and 3) Understanding journalists' attitudes towards online photographic content and use." (p. v) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working for the Columbia Missourian's online edition. The research component contains an analysis of the Missourian's web site traffic patterns, an analysis of focus group participants' feedback on the redesigned Missourian web site, and a description of the author's research project on "news convergence and its relationship to credibility, workflow and user preference" (p. 7).

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences producing an interactive local election guide for the Columbia Missourian of the 2008 municipal elections in Columbia, Missouri. The author's aim was to inform the public about details regarding elections such as what specific duties and decisions officeholders might face once elected and with whom they would be working. Includes field notes and samples of work. The research and analysis component "attempts to answer, through content analysis of the print and online editions, observations of a newsroom and in-depth interviews with editors, the question of how news judgment changes in an environment where editors are asked to contribute content to the online edition of their newspapers." (p. 23)

"These columns, chosen at random and availability on the computer, appeared weekly in the Columbia, Mo. daily for a period spanning some five years."

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. For the professional work component, the author created a weekly photo-driven column for the Columbia Missourian called Boone Life. A photo-driven column is "a picture with text written by the photojournalist. Although the text can be a caption, it is usually a short story." (p. 150) This column is an example of community journalism, which for the purposes of this project, "is journalism that seeks to educate a group of people with different values who share a sense of connectedness about themselves. ... Community journalism contains elements of 'strong human interest' from a 'found moment.'" (p. 5-6) The author was responsible for all aspects of the content--story ideas, picture-taking, writing, design. Field notes and copy of work are included. For the research component titled "The gatekeeper's perspective on photo columns," the author interviewed five editors and a designer from three newspapers of varying circulation which all had photo driven columns, in order to "gain a basic understanding of how editors, word and visual, as well as designers perceive photo columns" in comparison to photojournalists (p. 27) This section includes a literature review and interview transcripts.

Describes the author's work in creating a book version of the online exhibit "36 Hours in Columbia" and in interviewing community members to find out their thoughts on how the newspaper "Columbia Missourian" represents the community visually.

In his introduction, the author states: "For my Plan B master's project, ... I coordinated the use of photography, art and information graphics in the Columbia Missourian. I also designed the weekly food page and coordinated use of four-color pictures in the daily newspaper and the Sunday magazine. ... In this paper I will explain the operation of the Missourian picture desk during my tenure [as editor] and include reduced-size photo copies of tearsheets where applicable. First I'll outline a schedule of my daily activities. Then I will discuss experiences which I hope will be unique to my tenure ... Third, I will discuss facets of photo desk operation which remain constant from semester to semester ... The next section of this paper will discuss food page design and color photography at the Missourian. I will also discuss three important experiences in my brief picture editing career ... Finally, I will evaluate how the student picture editor fits into the organizational structure of the Missourian newsroom and suggest changes for improved picture desk operation in the future." (introduction, p. 1-2) Includes examples of work.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as managing editor of Weekend magazine, an alternative newsweekly published by the Columbia Missourian, which had become a monthly, general interest publication appealing to no one and was in trouble. Includes field notes and examples of work. The research component, entitled, Refocusing Weekend magazine as an alternative newsweekly, "detail[s] an editorial format and preliminary business plan for the successful transformation of Weekend magazine into a viable alternative newsweekly published by the Missouri Publishing Company but distributed independently of the daily Missourian." (IV, p. 2) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as editor of the Wednesday Weekly and the Sunday Weekender, the two free weekly newspapers published by the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component the author examines "how Missouri newspapers view the importance of information graphics and how they are being used in their news coverage." (p. 32)

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as managing editor for Weekend magazine, the Friday magazine of the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the research component entitled "An evaluation of Weekend magazine's declining revenues", the author examines "the drastic reduction in Weekend's advertising revenues over the past year and ... suggest[s] some ways the magazine staff can improve these revenues by using the methods of other similar publications." (V, p. 2)

This project includes a series of videos produced for the Columbia Missourian, as well as an analysis portion that sought to examine the changing role of journalism schools in the 21st century, paying particular attention to the continuing role of liberal arts education and the shift away from track-based curricula toward a converged curriculum. The ten videos produced for the Missourian depict the various ways in which citizens of Columbia, Missouri spend their summer, including street festivals, swim lessons, and other events. In the analysis portion of the project, my methodology involved a combination of in-depth interviews of journalism educators, professionals, and former students, as well as a survey distributed to current students. I was able to conclude that journalism schools are reacting to the pressures of a new media environment by de-emphasizing a liberal arts curriculum in favor of a more technical approach, and that convergence students should be careful not to try to do too many things at once; editors value masters of a single technical skill over jacks-of-all-trades. These results will be useful not only to journalism students as they plot their course tracks, but also to educators and professionals, as they seek to streamline the curriculum to be more responsive to the changing needs of contemporary newsrooms. The results will also serve to further the discussion concerning the changes in journalism education from a traditional, liberal-arts based curriculum to a more vocationally-focused one.

During fall of 2015, a group of students at the University of Missouri called Concerned Student 1950 protested racial inequity on campus. Their collective action led to structural shakeups in the university's leadership. News about the protests were broadcast to a national and even international audience, but started with coverage by local media organizations in Columbia, Missouri. This qualitative research examines local media coverage of the Concerned Student 1950 protests using a textual analysis to uncover ideologies of race. Local coverage from a three-month period in 2015 was examined from the following outlets: KBIA, a Mid-Missouri NPR affiliate; KOMU, an NBC affiliate; and the Columbia Missourian, a print and digital newspaper. This research argues that while local news outlets have moved away from simplistic constructions of whiteness as good and blackness as bad, their coverage still reinforces these characterizations. This study illuminates the discursive elements that constructed protesters as deviant and resistant, while university leaders were constructed as normal and compliant. Ultimately, this research provides a possible template for local journalists to improve the equity and balance of their coverage of social movements.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as art director for Ideas magazine, a weekly supplement to a local newspaper, allowing many design opportunities and challenges. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the analysis component the author examines the differing design approaches in Newsweek and The Journalist (Xin xin wen zhou kan). Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences doing a convergence project at the Columbia Missourian and KBIA-FM. The project was to enhance the Missourians annual "Progress Edition." The author worked with the lead editor on this edition, entitled 2020 Vision, to develop stories about five issues that Columbia would face over the next 20 years. Field notes and samples of work are included. In the research component the author identifies "the obstacles faced by journalists at ... newspapers ... who have attempted convergence with online and broadcast media, particularly as it relates to the flow of news through various 'gates.'" (p. 70) This section includes a literature review and interview transcripts.

People use online platforms such as Twitter and Facebook to find and share news that matters to them. This quantitative study explores how tweets posted to two newspaper's accounts - The Kansas City Star and the Columbia Missourian - resonated with their audience. Using a content analysis, the researcher sought to understand how the subject and frame of tweets affected stories' online readership and the number of times a tweet was reposted. This study used conceptual episodic and thematic frames as a way to explore whether news outlets' tweets were retweeted and how many people on Twitter clicked on links to the stories. This study found that tweets posted were disproportionately episodic, but that frame did not have a statistically significant effect on online readership or retweets. The topic of a tweet significantly affected how many times it was retweeted, and for one of the newspapers in the sample, significantly affected how many page views a story received from Twitter.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and an analysis component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working at the Columbia Missourian as a sports reporter. The center piece of the author's professional project was the production of a four-part long-form narrative series regarding Missouri Valley College's women's wrestling team, but general sports reporting notes and stories are also included in this section of the text. Includes field notes and examples of work. In the analysis component the author interviewed four "experienced female sports columnists, asking them about how their opinions have changed in recent years about covering women's sports and other issues facing women in sports journalism." (p. 5) Includes a literature review.

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences designing "a first-class publication from start to finish. The publication is Tiger Tipoff, a weekly tabloid that covers Missouri basketball" (appendix, [p. 1]) and is included in the Columbia Missourian and distributed at home games. Includes field notes and examples of work. The research component centers "on determining who reads Tiger Tipoff (and the Missourian sports section) so future publications can be better targeted to readers." (appendix, [p. 8])

This journalism master's project includes a professional work component and a research component. The professional work component details the author's experiences working as a project photographer and a graphics manager for the civic journalism efforts of the Columbia Missourian. Includes field notes and examples of work. The research component, entitled, Doing good work and being satisfied: how to make this a reality, "examines ways a newspaper photojournalist could navigate through the inherently high-stress world of a newsroom - a traditionally hostile environment for photojournalists - and discover a means to produce high-quality, satisfying work. Through interviews with three American newspaper staff photographers, this issue is broken down into three topics as a way to develop an understanding and means to master the job's greatest challenges: the job or role of photojournalists in the newsroom and communities they cover ... carving out a piece of the newsroom ... strategies for conquering burnout ..." (p. 14) Includes a literature review and interview transcripts.