Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism - Photojournalism: Photojournalism History Resources

Study of photography and photojournalism

Find Photojournalism Books

Look for Books in these Catalogs

Search for Books Using These Subjects    

  • Documentary
  • Paparazzi 
  • Photography--history (there will be other subjects related to this) 
  • Photographers --Biography 
  • Photography--Biography  
  • Photography--History  
  • Photography--United States or Germany etc.  
  • Photojournalism 
  • Photojournalists 
  • War Photography 
  • Women Photographers

Subject search for the name of photographer 

  • i.e. Brady, M  for  Mathew Brady  
  • Mann, Sally

Perform keyword searches for books.  

Try entering key words you are interested in such as:  (Note: use the asterisk when searching for word stem endings and use parenthesis when doing a keyword search)

  • biograph* and photographer*
  • war photograph*
  • history and photo*  
  • history and photojournal* 
  • photography and england    
  • photojournalis* or photographer*

Encyclopedias and Biographical Resources

Photojournalism Encyclopedias and Historical Works 

  • Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography / Lynne Warren, editor.  Ellis Ref TR642 .E5 2006 Vols. 1-3.
  • Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research. Richard Rudisill[et al.][edited by Peter  E. Palmquist] 1991. JOUR-R  TR15 .P477 1991 & 2000. 
  • The encyclopedia of photography: an A-to-Z visual directory, with an inspirational gallery of finished works/ Adrian Davies. MU JOUR REF TR146 .D248  2000  
  • The photography encyclopedia / Fred W. McDarrah and Gloria S. McDarrah.  New York : Schirmer Books, c1999.  MU JOUR REF TR9 .M39 1999.
  • American Image:  Photographing One Hundred Years in the Life of a Nation by Martin Sandler, 1989.  JOUR TR23 .S33 1989.
  • Encyclopedia of Photography. ICP, International Center of Photography 1984. JOUR TR9.I24 1984.
  • Eyes of Time: Photojournalism in America.  Marianne Fulton, 1988. Reserve.  JOUR TR 820 .E845 1988.
  • The Focal encyclopedia of photography /edited by Leslie Stroebel and Richard Zakia. Boston: Focal Press, c1993. 3rd Ed. MU JOUR REF TR9 .F6 1993.
  • History of Photography: from 1839 to the present.  Beaumont Newhall.  Reserve. JOUR TR15 .N47 1982.
  • Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists and Innovators. 1983.  ELLIS TR 139 .B767 1993.
  • An Annotated Bibliography. William, Johnson, 1990.  JOUR-R TR15 .J64 1990.
  • One Hundred Years of Photographic History. Van Deren Coke, 1975.  JOUR TR15. O53.
  • Shadow and Substance:  Essays on the History of Photography. edited by Kathleen Collins 1990.  JOUR TR15 .S48 1990
  • International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers. Edwards, Gary, 1988.  JOUR-R  TR 15 .E48 1988.

Biographical Resources

  • American Photographers:  An Illustrated Who's Who Among Leading Contemporary Americans. edited by Les Krantz, 1989.  JOUR-R  TR139 .K73 1989.
  • An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988. Deborah Willis-Thomas, 1989.  JOUR-R TR139.W55 1989.
  • Black Photographers, 1840-1940:  An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography. by Deborah Willis-Thomas, 1985.  JOUR   TR139.W55 1985.
  • International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works: based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers. by Gary Edwards, 1988.  JOUR-R TR15.E48 1988.