Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Parliamentary Papers at MU: Medieval

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Medieval Papers

Rolls of Parliament

The earliest records of parliament, up to the sixteenth century, are known as the Rolls of Parliament. The Rolls of Parliament cover the reigns of Edward I to Henry VII (1278-1509**) and are available in sixteen volumes. 

After 1509 The Rolls were superseded by the Journals of the House of Lords and, somewhat later, the Journals of the House of Commons.

There are three options to obtaining the Rolls.

  1. They are available under the title The Parliament Rolls of Medieval England from St. Louis University via MOBIUS loan.
    1. If you wish to travel to St. Louis University, they also have an searchable electronic version.
  2. Six volumes are located in the MU Law Library Rare Book Room.
    1. They cover the reigns of Edward I through Henry VII or 1278-1503.
    2. Uncataloged.  Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.

**Note: The Rolls end at 1504 because Henry VII did not call a Parliament during the last 5 years of his reign.

Other Medieval Material:

  1. Ellis Library also has many volumes related to Parliament in print, either in the stacks (DA 25 call numbers, 3rd floor) and in the Depository.  To browse online, go to the MERLIN Catalog and search by Library of Congress Call Number.
  2. The MU Law Library has one helpful set:
    1. Ancient Laws and Institutes of England
      1. Two volumes.
        1. Volume 1 covers the reigns of Aethelbert to Henry 1, or approximately 580-1135. 
        2. Volume 2 contains the Monumenta Ecclesiastica (in Latin)
      2. Uncataloged.  Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  3. Parliamentary History or Consitutional History of England
    1. Covers "earliest times to the end of Chalres II reign."
    2. Uncataloged. Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  4. Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England from the Norman Conquest in 1066 to the Year 1803
    1. 36 volumes.
    2. Uncataloged. Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  5. The Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England from the Earliest Times to the Restoration of King Charles II : Collected from the Records, the Rolls of Parliament, the Journals of Both Houses, the Public Libraries, Original Manuscripts...  
    1. Library Use only. Available upon request in MU Ellis Special Collections.
  6. Statues at Large from the Magna Carta to the end of the [reign of King George the third]
    1. Cover 1215-1820.  18 volumes.
    2. Call Number: DK130 125.R8 1769.  Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  7. Parliamentary History or Consitutional History of England
    1. Covers "earliest times to the end of Charles II reign."
    2. Uncataloged. Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  8. Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England from the Norman Conquest in 1066 to the Year 1803
    1. 36 volumes.
    2. Uncataloged. Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  9. Scotland Acts of Parliament
    1. Covers 1124-1702.  11 vol. and general index vol.
    2. Uncataloged.  Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.
  10. Scots Statutes Revised
    1. Covers 1424-1900 and index.  Two volumes.
    2. Uncataloged.  Law Library Rare Book Room, request appointment.  Click here for contact information.

Statues of the Realm (online)

  1. Accessed through Hein Online for 1220-1713, plus relevant indexes.
    1. Use above link, the scroll down to click on Statutes of the Realm