Maps and Geographic Information Systems: Historical

Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

State and county maps scanned from an 1895 atlas by Rand McNally.

Maps grouped by collection: Cities and Towns; Conservation and Environment; Discovery and Exploration; Cultural Landscapes; Military Battles and Campaigns; and Transportation and Communication.

Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies, 1750-1789

The interactive maps make use of the date-coding incorporated in the county boundary data. The maps allow the user to select any date and display the county configuration at that date. Several additional map layers are provided, including modern county seats, unsuccessful county proposals, modern county boundaries, and state boundaries. Each of these layers can be toggled on or off by the user.

A digital portal bringing together materials from three premier collections: the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia.

Historical maps of some American Cities. Current geospatial data (roads, lakes, parks, boundaries, aerial photos) can be overlaid and compared to the historical. Many of these maps may also be viewed in a Google Earth viewer.

A set of 227 folios published by the USGS between 1894 and 1945.

Over 200,000 USGS Topographic Maps dating back to 1884.

HyperCities is a collaborative research and educational platform for traveling back in time to explore the historical layers of city spaces. The site has geo-referenced historical maps for Los Angeles, New York, Chicago, Rome, Lima, Ollantaytambo, Berlin, Tel Aviv, Tehran, Saigon, Toyko, Shanghai, Seoul.

Documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks. The collection consists of approximately 200 maps dating from the 17th century to the present, reflecting early mapping of the areas that would become four National Parks, as well as the parks themselves.

Maps of Missouri illustrates the many ways maps convey times, places, and events. Approximately 100 maps of Missouri cities, towns, counties and the state are included in the exhibit. Most of the maps were created between the beginning of the nineteenth through the early twentieth century and appeared as single sheet maps or sections of atlases. Grouped by theme: Cities, Towns and Counties; Conservation and Environment; Discovery and Exploration; Cultural Landscapes; Military, Battle and Campaign; Transportation and Communication; and General Maps.

Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

The collection of over 35,000 scanned images - covering offshore and onshore sites - includes some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans, and Civil War battlefield maps.

Digitized maps dating back to the 1st century up to present.

Search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.

University of Texas at Austin contains over 44,000 digitized maps from around the world.

Provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division.

Stanford’s Spatial History Project host a number of ongoing collaborative projects, including Shaping the West (American railroads), Terrain of History (Rio de Janiero), Critical Habitat (American west and environment), Between the Tides (San Francisco), Holocaust Geographies, Mapping Vice in Early Twentieth-Century Philadelphia, and Chile's Aquaculture Industry, 1950-2000.

From the New York Public Library. Scroll down past the New York maps to view World Antiquarian Maps.