Maps and Geographic Information Systems: International

The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. Archived issues are available back to 1990

The Perry Castaneda Map collection includes links to maps of continents, countries, territories, regions, oceans and seas.

Free outline and blank maps. Great for educational purposes.

Query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey.

Continent and country maps including road maps, physical maps and political maps.

Information on natural resources, economic situation, agriculture, forestry, fisheries, and global issues for each country. News articles and relevant publications for country are linked.

The official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).

An online, open-source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information

The map maker allows you to add and remove layers depicting physical systems, human systems, environment and society.

Political and Administrative Maps of continents, countries and regions, as well as online resources of maps, map collections, reference maps, and world maps.

A free, public map-based interface that allows users to search for maps, cross sections, charts, tables, figures, and data from GeoScienceWorld publications.

Allows you to search 300,000 maps, tables, charts from GeoScienceWorld publications.

University of Texas at Austin contains over 44,000 digitized maps from around the world.

Excellent source for maps of many countries and regions of the World. Emphasis on maps for mission-specific countries.

Used for accessing remote sensing data

Global maps of soil regions, major land stresses, desertification, water erosion and other maps related to natural resources.

The European Environment Agency provides sound, independent information on the environment for those involved in developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy, and also the general public. In close collaboration with the European Environmental Information and Observation Network (Eionet) and its 33 member countries, the EEA gathers data and produces assessments on a wide range of topics related to the environment

Designed to create a standardized infrastructure for the geospatial data resources of the 28 participating EU member states.

GISCO, a Eurostat service which promotes and stimulates the use of GIS within the European Statistical System and the Commission. It is responsible for the management and dissemination of the Geographical reference database of the Commission. It produces maps, spatial analysis, promotes geo-referencing of statistics and provides user support for Commission users of GIS.

Digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century.

Based on the Harvard University Geospatial Infrastructure (HUG) platform, and was developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis to make spatial data on Africa easier for researchers to discover and explore." It will "Accumulate both contemporary and historical data supplied by researchers and make it permanently accessible online." Uses map layers.

An extensive collection with over 1500 maps focusing on the continent of Africa and its countries.

The AFRITERRA Foundation is a non-profit Cartographic Library and Archive assembling and preserving the original rare maps of Africa in a definitive place for education and interpretation. We view cartography as a medium that uniquely links art, technology, and history.

Cartographic library assembling and preserving original rare maps of Africa.

This map gives a year-by-year presentation of selected themes in the history of Africa between 1879 and 2002. Toggle buttons allow you to select which thematic layers to activate. Choices include: Territory names; Changing boundaries, imperial rulers and political systems; Violent conflicts; Economic and demographic trends.

Aims to provide a global overview of regional issues in West Africa, and describe and synthesize regional thinking on the different dimensions of regional integration in West Africa.

Over 200 antiquarian African maps from the private collection of David Rumsey. Includes detailed descriptions. Use the right hand icons to zoom in, read map descriptions, etc. Maps cover the African continent, South Africa, West Africa, North Africa, ethnographic.

Over 700 maps, 632 of which are searchable and viewable through Stanford’s Image Gallery.

Over 1,000 images of pre-colonial Africa (ex. Queen Nzinga, King of Benin, King of the Kongo, European trading posts) and the slave trade in Africa and the Americas. Includes many historical maps.

GIS data from the Australian Government's OpenData programme, including soil, climate and census data. This link shows only data available as shapefiles. Click the KML link to show KML data instead.

Historic and contemporary maps of Australia, including physical and political maps, climate maps, relief maps, and economic/resource maps.

Population Database of Mexico; Urban Place, Time-Series Population Spreadsheet of Mexico; Urban Place GIS Coverage of Mexico; GIS Coverage of Mexican Localities; GIS Coverage of Mexican States; GIS Coverage of Mexican Municipalities; and Raster Based GIS Coverage of Mexican Population.