Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science: Research Methods

Tips, techniques & links to help you find answers for your research papers & projects

Research Methods

There are many guides and handbooks for both qualitative and quantitative research methods. Many books on political science methodology are  found in the JA 71 call number area (second floor, East, in Ellis Library). 

Keep in mind that methodology books are very high use, so if our copy is checked out, request the book from ALL MERLIN or MOBIUS.

Here is a sampling of books available:

Encyclopedia of Research Design  (ebook) An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.

Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods  (ebook) Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses.

Research methods for political science: quantitative, qualitative and mixed method approaches. (ebook) The third edition retains its effective approach to help students learn what to research, why to research, and how to research. The text integrates both quantitative and qualitative approaches to research in one volume and covers such important topics as research design, specifying research problems, designing questionnaires and writing questions, designing and carrying out qualitative research, and analyzing both quantitative and qualitative research data. 

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods  (ebook) An interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices.

Basic Research Methods: an entry to social science research (ebook) This text offers a comprehensive and rounded view of research as a tool for logical problem-solving. It is built on the philosophical-pragmatic foundation that the value of knowledge and research methodologies lies in their usefulness in engaging with the real world. 

Social Science Research: principles, methods and practices (ebook) This book is designed to introduce doctoral and graduate students to the process of scientific research in the social sciences, business, education, public health, and related disciplines.

SAGE encyclopedia of social science research methods (ebook) Featuring over 900 entries, this resource covers all disciplines within the social sciences with both concise definitions & in-depth essays.

Sage handbook of research methods in political science and international relations. (ebook) This book offers a comprehensive overview of research processes in social science - from the ideation and design of research projects, through the construction of theoretical arguments, to conceptualization, measurement, and data collection, and quantitative and qualitative empirical analysis

Political science research in practice/ Malici and Smith (print) (JA86 .M34 2012)

Experimental political science and the study of causality : from nature to the lab / Rebecca B. Morton, Kenneth C. Williams  (print) (JA71 .M675 2010)

Empirical research and writing : a political science student's practical guide / Leanne C. Powner (print) (JA86 .P69 2015)

Handbook of research methods and applications in political science / edited by Hans Keman, Jaap J. Woldendorp (print) (JA86 .H3573 2016)

Research methods for political science : quantitative and qualitative approaches /  David E. McNabb. (print) (JA71.5 .M34 2010)

Statistical models and causal inference : a dialogue with the social sciences / David A. Freedman ; edited by David Collier, Jasjeet S. Sekhon, Philip B. Stark. (print) ( HA29 .F6785 2010)

The Oxford handbook of political methodology / edited by Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier, Henry E. Brady and David Collier. (print) (JA71 .O948 2008)

Political science research methods : exploring America at a crossroads / Cal Clark. (print) (JA88.U6 C535 2014)