History: Primary Sources: Pre-1600

The Catalogue lists some of the medieval and renaissance manuscripts from the British Library collections. It includes both descriptions and images.

Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many diverse collections.

Complete digital reproductions of the manuscripts are linked with corresponding scholarly descriptions. As of January 2013, 961 manuscripts from 42 libraries.

The ISTC is an international project to record every item printed with movable type prior to 1501.

Online reproductions of manuscripts from a library transported from Heidelberg to Rome during the Thirty Years War.

The database attempts to collect the basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents, not only in Greek (9,673 items) and Latin (2,162 items), but also in Coptic (1,994 items), Syriac (804 items), Demotic (721 items, not including the funerary texts) and Arabic (76 items). At present, it includes 16393 items, dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800 and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.) to Romanus Melodus and Gregorius the Great (6th cent. A.D.), including 3671 texts of which the author can no longer be identified. "Books" is used broadly to include all manuscripts, not just codices.

vHMML offers researchers at every level of experience the resources and tools they need to work with manuscripts. vHMML will ultimately cover several manuscript cultures from Europe, Africa, the Middle East, and South Asia. It makes abundant use of high-resolution images of manuscripts from libraries around the world, many of them digitized as part of HMML’s mission to preserve and share important, endangered, and inaccessible manuscript collections through digital photography, archiving, and cataloging.

Historian Daniel P. Franke has listed "some of the resources I have found most useful for teaching (and researching) medieval studies."

List of modern editions of medieval primary sources, searchable by country, time period, record type, language, subject matter and more. Items are annotated at varying levels of detail.

Lists medieval manuscripts available in Ellis Library Special Collections, 4th Floor

Early printed books from a library transported from Heidelberg to Rome during the Thirty Years War.