Library Guides: History: Primary Sources: 21st C.

Archived Web Pages

Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. Type in the web address of a site or page where you would like to start, and press enter. Then select from the archived dates available and see what the site looked like on that date.
California Digital Library
Archived Web pages by topic, especially on social movements and controversies; mix of California and international content
Library of Congress Web Archives
Archived Web pages arranged by topic (e.g., Elections 2002, Crisis in Darfur, Iraq War 2003...)
Twitter Archive at the Library of Congress
Not functional yet. Link is to the Library of Congress' FAQ on the topic.
UK Web Archive
European Archive: Web
European Constitutions, Italian Web domain 2006 snapshot, and a little else as of July 2010
Pandora, Australia's Web Archive
The National Library and its partners select those Australian online publications and web sites that they consider are of significance and to have long-term research value.
Webarchiv: Archive of the Czech Web
University Archives Web Crawl
The University Archives harvests content in the missouri.edu and umsystem.edu domain and other related organizations not stored in those domains (Alumni Association, fraternities, Mizzou Athletics, etc.) twice a year. The first such harvest was done in July 2007. Content is stored on a local server and must be viewed on a computer in the Archives, by appointment.

Local News Archives

Columbia Daily Tribune Archive Search: February 2, 2009 -
Searches only back to February 2009
Columbia Daily Tribune Archive Search: Jan 1, 1993 to Feb 1, 2009
Columbia Missourian (MerlinOne Search), February 2002-
Columbia Heart Beat
Missouri's All-Digital, Alternative News Source

News Archives

State Historical Society of Missouri
Local Missouri newspapers on microfilm

NewsBank
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).
Date Coverage: 1989-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.
Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva

See also the YouTube archives listed under "Television and Newsreels" in the 20th century section of this guide.

Federal Government Documents: 21st Century

Link descriptions adapted from the MU Libraries Government Documents Guide. See that guide for further detail on government documents.

U.S. Federal Government Youtube Channel
Includes videos from NASA, The White House, CDC, Department of State, Library of Congress, FEMA, NOAA, Social Security, FDA, Veteran's Affairs, the Department of Education and others.
GovFresh.com
Live feed of official news from U.S. Government Twitter, YouTube, RSS, Facebook, Flickr accounts and more, all in one place.
USA.gov
Contains mobile apps and other current information from agencies of the federal government

HeinOnline
The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. In addition, includes law and law-related periodicals.
Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force.
Date Coverage: 1925-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation * Wildcard ?
U.S. Statutes at Large
Provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes.
Date Coverage: 1789 -date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *

Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Includes a wide variety of primary source material, including declassified documents. Published approximately thirty years after the period covered.
Avalon Project (21st Century)
Documents in law, history and diplomacy, selected by Yale University. Examples: 9/11 Commission Report, documents on Middle East peace process.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1976-present
Electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government, with direct links to those that are available online.
United States Government Manual
Published annually, browsable by year. Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, as well as on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
Congressional Directory
The official handbook of Congress, with additional information on the Executive and Judicial branches, as well as international agencies. Contains biographical information and Congressional District maps.
Statutes at Large
Every public and private law passed by Congress is published in the Statutes at Large, in order of the date it was enacted into law.

Columbia and Boone County Documents: 21st Century

City of Columbia Annual Budgets
Budget reports, Fiscal Year, 1999-
Financial Trend Reports, 2003-
Capital Improvement Plans, 2008-
City of Columbia Boards & Commissions
Lists all city commissions (such as police review board, parks & rec, library district, planning & zoning, cultural affairs, disability commission and many more), with links to what each one does, plus some archived minutes. Availability of minutes varies by commission.
Boone County Assessor's Office
Click on the aerial view of a property to find ownership and tax information that property.
Boone County Auditor Reports
Archive of Comprehensive Financial Planning Report, 2003-; County Budget, 2003-; federally required audit reports, 2003-
Boone County Election Results (2000-)
Navigate to the Elections section and look for Historic Election Results.
Boone County Human Resources Dept.
Annual Report, 2009- online; sporadic reports from prior years were done for the County Commission but are stored on local servers. Info on hiring numbers for county offices, continuing education efforts, salary comparisons and more.
City of Columbia Public Works Dept.
Annual Reports, 2006-. Project reports on current projects.
Boone County Sheriff
Corrections Statistical Reports, 1995-; Operations Statistical Reports, 1995-; Traffic Stop Reporting, 2009-
Building Permit Annual Reports
Annual reports 1974- Monthly reports 2007-
County Collector Tax Bill Search
Tax bills on real property and personal property (cars, boats) from past five years may be searched by personal or company name.
City of Columbia Health & Human Services
Current information everything from mosquito spraying to dog impounding to AIDS treatment. Annual reports 2009-. Information for prior years is in the city budget reports.
Missouri Appellate Courts: Statistics
Annual Judicial Reports, 1997-; Annual Statistical Reports, 2000-; Statistics for Drug and Alcohol-Related Offenses, 2003-
Missouri Appellate Courts: Opinions
1997-

International Primary Sources

MU Libraries International Government Guide
Topic include international documents dealing with United States Relations, the United Nations, Labor, Development, Statistics, Human Rights, Law and Justice, Science and Technology, Regional Organizations, Security, Education Policy, Trade, and Health.

Blogs & Web Trends

Google Blogs
Google Trends
Graphs how often your search term was used in Google over time
Twitter Search
Track frequency of certain words tweeted over time - can be made to search tweets coming from certain places.
Tweetmeme
"hottest links on Twitter"

MU Items Online

MU and UM System Web pages have been archived twice a year since July 2007. See Archived Web Pages section for more information.

MOspace: Institutional Repository
MU dissertations 2004-
Some MU periodicals back into 1990's
Many departmental publications
Institutional repository of the University of Missouri System, and is a joint initiative of the University Libraries, the Office of Library Systems, and the Division of Information Technology.
Authors can submit works directly to mospace@missouri.edu; most electronic formats are accepted for submission.
User's Guide: https://mospace.umsystem.edu/xmlui/pages/help

Illumination, Fall 2003-
Full text from 2004 to current
Research at MU Radio Archive, 2004-
Research at MU Story Archive, 2004-
Research at MU Media Archive, 2004-

Statistical Sources

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Find both statistics and sources for more statistics here.
FedStats
Portal to the 70+ federal agencies that produce statistics. Year coverage varies.
American FactFinder
Census-related statistics

Missouri Documents

Missouri Data Portal
Search machine readable public data files maintained by state agencies
Record Retention Schedules
Shows what records are retained by which state agencies for how long
Elections Results
1996-; early years less complete than later years
Missouri Blue Book
Official Manual of the State of Missouri, 2001-
Governor's Executive Orders
1984-
MO House & Senate Bills
1995-
more...less...
Search provides bill text, bill summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, calendars, committee reports and courtesy resolutions.
State Budget
Fiscal Year 2007-
Tax Expenditure Report
January 2009 report only
Comprehensive Annual Financial Report
2002-

Oral History

Oral History Association
How to do oral history, how to use oral histories and where to find oral history collections
International Oral History Association
Find oral history for regions outside of the U.S.