Black Studies: Journals
 

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.

Contains digitized primary sources related to African American communities in the North, South and the Midwest. Included are documents pertaining to the Pruitt-Igoe housing project, various urban issues around schools, housing and police relations, interviews with key figures in the African-American arts scene in Atlanta, and a complete run of The Messenger.

Offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, as well as by Union or Confederate loyalty and many other ways.

A full-text collection resources that chronicle the development of America across 150 years that include digitized images of the pages of magazines and journals.

Covers current issues for key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, as well as back issues of all AAA journals.

Contains fully cross-searchable texts including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, etc. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.

Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups.

Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.

Provides access to English language literature in reference works, bibliographies, web pages and journals.

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes 1909-2010. For post-2010 issues, see the links in the MU Libraries' journal finder.