Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Studies: Reference
 

A guide to resources relevant to Black Studies worldwide.

Biographies

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these biographical works.

African American Architects : a Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945

African American Biographies

African American Biography

African-American Business Leaders

African American Generals and Flag Officers

African American Mystery Writers

African American National Biography

African American Recipients of the Medal of Honor

African-American Sports Greats

African American Women

African American Women Writers in New Jersey, 1836-2000

Black American Military Leaders

Black Authors and Illustrators of Children's Books

African Biography

Biographical Sketches of St. Louisians

Biographies of Black Composers and Songwriters

Black Lives

Black Members of the United States Congress with Biographies, 1789-2004

Black Texas Women

Breaking the Color Line in Medicine

Burundi: Biography of a Small African Country

Chaotic justice : Rethinking African American Literary History

Cinema Remixed & Reloaded: Black Women Artists and the Moving Image Since 1970 

Contemporary Black Biography

Dictionary of African Historical Biography

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers

Epic Journeys of Freedom : Runaway Slaves of the American Revolution and Their Global Guest for Liberty

Equiano, the African

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond

Harlem Renaissance Lives from the African American National Biography

Harriet Wilson's Our Nig  

The History of Education under Apartheid, 1948-1994

100 Greatest African Americans

100 Most Popular African American Authors: Biographical Sketches and Biliographies 

Liberation Historiography : African American Writers and the Challenge of History, 1794-1861

Making a Way Out of No Way

On the trail of the buffalo soldier II

Out of the Shadows : a Biographical History of African American Athletes

The Pen-Pictures of Modern Africans and African Celebrities [electronic resource]

Political Leaders in Black Africa

Prophesying Daughters : Black Women Preachers and the Word, 1823-1913

Selves in Question : Interviews on Southern African Auto/Biography

South African Writers

Tears of the Dead : the Social Biography of an African Family

Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black Writers

Encyclopedias

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these biographical works.

Africa

Africana

The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions

Encyclopedia of African American Actresses in Film and Television

Encyclopedia of African American Business History

An Encyclopedia of African American Chrisitan Heritage

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History

Encyclopedia of African American Heritage

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1869 to the Present

Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895

Encyclopedia of African American Literature

Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers

Encyclopedia of African History

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture

Encyclopedia of African Religion

Encyclopedia of Black Studies

Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance

Facts of File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore

Jim Crow Encyclopedia

New Encyclopedia of Africa

Online Encyclopedia of Significant People and Places in African American History

100 Greatest African Americans: a Biographical Encyclopedia

Organizing Black America

Oxford Companion to Black British History

World Afropedia

 

Dictionaries

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these dictionaries.

African American Architects

African American Recipients of the Medal of Honor

African American Sports Greats

Black American Military Leaders

Black Talk

Diccionario de Africanismos en el castellano del Río de la Plata

A Dictionary of African Mythology

Historical Dictionary of African American Television

Historical Dictionary of African American Theater

International Dictionary of Black Composers

The Language of the Blues from Alcorub to Zuzu

Almanacs

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these almanacs.

African American Almanac

Reference Library of Black America

Handbooks

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these handbooks.

Handbook of African American Health

Handbook of African American Psychology

Handbook on Planning and Action for Crime Prevention in Southern Africa and the Caribbean Regions

Bibliographies

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these bibliographies.

Distance Learning for Higher Education [electronic resource]: An Annotated Bibliography

Education Standards for Teaching and Learning [microform]: A Bibliography

Historical Sources in U.S. Reading Education, 1900-1970: An Annotated Bibliography

Directories

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these directories.

African American Theater Buildings : an Illustrated Historical Directory, 1900-1955

The African American Theatre Directory, 1816-1960 [electronic resource]

The African Studies Companion : a Guide to Information Sources

The African American Yellow Pages

Black Households in Columbia, Missouri, 1901-1909

The Black Loyalist Directory : African Americans in Exile After the American Revolution

Contemporary Black American Playwrights and their plays

Directory of African American Religious Bodies

Directory of Scholarly Journals Published in Africa

Freedom's Lawmakers

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers

Hippocrene U.S.A. Guide to Black America

Internet directory to Black Web Sites

Minority Financial Aid Directory

The Official African-American Museums and Cultural Galleries Directory

Indexes

Search Discover@MU using a title search to find these indexes.

Analytical guide and indexes to the Crisis, 1910 - 1960

Black index : Afro-Americana in selected periodicals, 1907-1945

G.K. Hall index to Black periodicals

Index to Black periodicals

Index to periodical articles by and about Blacks

Index to periodical articles by and about Negroes

Index to the Schomburg clipping file

Indexes to The Competitor

Roots of Afrocentric thought : a reference guide to Negro digest/Black world, 1981-1976

Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) papers : [guide]