Local Resources and Newspapers - English 1000 Instructional Session - Allendorf - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

Local Resources

The resources in this section are most specifically connected to the University of Missouri, Columbia, and the State of Missouri. However, most tools that you see here are also available for other populations, and these can give you a starting point for finding other resources if you are researching a topic outside of these locations.

Library Guides

Government Document Resources

Missouri Government
Missouri Historical Documents Browser - Has documents from 1835 - 1943
List of Government Document Resources

Newspaper Databases

MU Libraries provides access to a large list of newspaper resources. There are international, national, and local newspapers included in the collection. The descriptions below the database links will provide information as to what kinds of resources are included.

Missouri Digital Heritage
Many individual collections relating to Missouri's 19th-century history: county & city records, black history, women's history, exploration and settlement, maps, military records, photos, sports, transportation and tourism

Factiva
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. Note: Off-campus users must use the VPN for access.

Also includes continuously updated newswires.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.

User's Guide: http://proquest.libguides.com/factiva
Global Newsstream
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) and international newspapers and contains full text for a selection of regional (U.S.) newspapers along with full-text television and radio news transcripts. Access provided by MOREnet.

Date Coverage Varies
Maximum Users Unlimited
Truncation
Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
NewsBank
Includes World Newspaper Archive, including African Newspapers; African American Periodicals 1825-1995; Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) and Series 2 (1758-1900).

Date Coverage: 1989-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

For a full list of newspaper databases: Newspaper Databases

Polls and Statistics

These resources were not specifically built for English 1000, but might be helpful for your research. Most of these resources are NOT academic, but can be a great resource for you as you share what an issue is or how likely people might be to react well to the solution you are presenting. Please reach out if you have any questions about how to use the tools!

Guide to Finding Statistics - General tools for statistics covering a range of resources
Missouri Government Statistics - Government funded statistics specific to Missouri
Researching Your Hometown - Looking for Statistics specific to your hometown

Roper iPOLL
The iPOLL database, from the Roper Center at Cornell University, provides access to public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics.

Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: 1935-date
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation %