A simple and fast search engine that helps you find relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Libraries’ collections. Results contain citations for scholarly journal articles, books and e-books, DVDs, magazines, newspapers, and dissertations.
Provides access to newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, photos, etc. from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages. It also contains business and financial data on companies from around the world.
Also includes continuously updated newswires. Date Coverage: Varies Maximum Users: Unlimited Truncation:Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.
Contains in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues. Provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
National municipal governance organization. The Solutions Database is only accessible to members of the organization, but topic descriptions are available.
NGO establishing outposts in cities to reduce the level of violence, with some success
General Search Strategy
The research path usually follows these steps:
Pose a question
Identify the types of information that might help with an answer
Identify where that information might be collected or published or otherwise to be found
Identify which tools might give you access to that collected or published information
This guide highlights different types of tools the library provides.
Two tips that apply to most research:
Watch the language.
Computer retrieval relies on matching terms, so if you're not using the same terminology as others, you may not have good retrieval. Watch for terminology, descriptors, subject headings in your search results.
Different disciplines or communities may use different terminology for the same thing. Non-American spelling or names of places might be different.
Think of synonyms for words and also for broader or narrower terms.
Who's doing the talking?
Watch for authors, sources mentioned, publications or publishers, agencies or other groups that collect data. One source can lead you to another. The website of an organization tracking an issue may be more up to date than any published materials.
Who's left out? Sometimes it's hard to tell, but it's good to look over your sources to see if anyone concerned might be left out of your investigation or excluded from the usual communication channels.
