Resources for Instructors in Special Collections: Further Resources

An ideal resource for cultural heritage professionals who teach with original materials, this book provides fresh, adaptable, and easy-to-implement primary source literacy exercises to improve their teaching and engage their students.

In the age of ubiquitous access to information, library special collections and archives have received renewed attention through digitization projects designed to share collections with the world at large. Yet these materials also offer opportunities for student learning through direct engagement with rare or unique items. While special collections and archives have largely been used by advanced researchers and scholars, an increasing number of undergraduate courses are taking advantage of these materials as guides in the instructional process.
Beyond "hands-on history," courses from across the curriculum are enriched through assignments, experiences and activities that draw upon or incorporate local or unusual items, primary sources or material culture---particularly the book as art object or artifact. Through 47 detailed and compelling case studies, Past or Portal? Enhancing Undergraduate Learning through Special Collections and Archives explores a variety of successful instructional models featuring a wide range of engagement methods with special collections and archival materials.

Educational Programs: Innovative Practices for Archives and Special Collections explores how archivists and special collections librarians in organizations of different sizes and types have approached the challenges in creating effective educational programs to prepare the next generation of researchers and advocates for archives.