Fragment (Towel/Napkin End), Turkish, 1850–1900, embroidered, Art Institute of Chicago.
- Browsing and searching within the collections are possible. To search, use the Search Within Collection search box.
Picture (Beaded), English, 1801–1900, beadwork, Art Institute of Chicago.
Panel with Phoenixes and Flowers (元 團鳳紋繡片), Chinese, Yuan dynasty (1271–1368), silk and metallic thread embroidery on silk gauze, The Met.
Textures from Nature in Textile Art : Natural inspiration for mixed-media and textile artists by 
In Pursuit of Color: from fungi to fossil fuels, uncovering the origins of the world's most famous dyes by 
Embroidering the Landscape: art, women and the environment in British North America, 1740-1770 by 
Simple Weave: Weave Without a Large Loom by 
Textiles of the Viking North Atlantic : Analysis, Interpretation, Re-Creation by 
Mixed Media Textile Art in Three Dimensions by 
The Art of Mary Linwood by 
Futur Liberty: Liberty fabrics and the avant-garde by 
Textile Creativity Through Nature: Felt, Texture and Stitch by 
Textile Portraits: People and Places in Textile Art by 
An unbroken thread : celebrating 150 years of the Royal School of Needlework by Why browse? Great for serendipitous searching and familiarizing yourself with the collections.
To browse print books on textile and fabric art and crafts in Ellis Library stacks (on the 4th floor R), browse the call numbers
Other books are on the 1st floor, 1A West:
To find a book on relevant to your practice and research, search by subject, rather than just by keyword. Subject headings are tags that libraries assigns to all the books about a particular topic to make those books easier to find (Fary).
Selected Subject Headings to try browsing with:
Embroidery
Embroidery -- England
Beadwork
Quillwork
Fiberwork
Fiberwork -- Exhibitions
Needlework
Needleworkers
Handmade paper
Decorative paper
Quilts
Quilting -- Patterns
Quiltmakers -- United States -- History
African American quilts
Tapestry
Tapestry -- History -- 20th century
Textile crafts
Textile design
Textile design -- Themes, motives
Textile design -- India -- History
Textile fabrics
Islamic textile fabrics
Weaving
Weaving -- Exhibitions
Hand weaving
Carpets
Rugs – Exhibitions
Dyes and dyeing
Batik
You may come across other useful subject headings during your research. Keep track of them so you can search with them in future. To search with them, paste them into the search box and select SU Subject Terms from the Select a Field tab.
Art in Felt and Stitch: creating beautiful works of art using fleece, fibres and threads by 
Coils, Folds, Twists, and Turns: contemporary techniques in fiber by 
Mark Making: fresh inspiration for quilt and fiber artists by 
New Ideas in Fusing Fabric: Cutting, Bonding and Mark-Making with The by 
The Papermaker's Companion: the ultimate guide to making and using handmade paper by 
Playing with Surface Design: Modern Techniques for Painting, Stamping, Printing and More by 
Creation Story: Gee's Bend quilts and the art of Thornton Dial
Sonya Clark: we are each other
Nick Cave: Meet Me at the Center of the Earth by 
Richard Tuttle - I don't know : the weave of textile language
Sonia Delaunay: Art, Design and Fashion
Woven Histories: textiles and modern abstraction
Yarn Bombing : The Art of Crochet and Knit Graffiti: Tenth Anniversary Edition by 
Extra/Ordinary: craft and contemporary art by 
Arapaho Women's Quillwork: motion, life, and creativity by 
Crafting Textiles: Tablet Weaving, Sprang, Lace and Other Techniques from the Bronze Age to the Early 17th Century by 
The Development of Ink, Printing and Paper in Asia by 
Embroidered Textiles: a world guide to traditional patterns by 
Speaking with Beads: Zulu arts from Southern Africa by 
Textiles of the Middle East and Central Asia: the fabric of life by 
Traditional Indian handcrafted textiles : history, techniques, processes, designs by Suggested databases for finding articles, book chapters, conference presentations, and other materials covering fabric and textile arts and crafts.
An art research database containing full-text art journals, books, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. It covers art history, design, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
