Library Guides: HIST 4004: History of Spain: Home

Online Reference Works

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.

more... less...

Date Coverage: Varies

Maximum Users: 2-5

Truncation:
Automatic

Gale eBooks
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Can be linked to Google or Microsoft account to quickly save entries.
Date Coverage: Varies
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: *; Wildcard:?

Key Reference Works (Print Resources)

These reference books, with exceptions as noted, are shelved on the first floor of Ellis Library in the Reference Books area.

The New Cambridge medieval history
Call Number: D117 .N48 1995
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: D114 .O94 2010 (3rd floor East, NOT Reference)
The Cambridge illustrated history of the Middle Ages
Call Number: CB351 .M7813 1986
Enciclopedia de la cultura española by Editora Nacional
Call Number: DP12 .E5

Publication Date: 1962-68

Franco-era encyclopedia of Spanish culture, in Spanish
New Catholic Encyclopedia by (available as book or e-book)
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003

Subject Librarian

Rachel Brekhus

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

168 Ellis Library

(Mon and Fri only). I work from home by default Tuesdays and Thursdays, but come to campus for in-person classes and meetings as needed.

MU faculty and staff can reach me quickly in Teams chat.

Students can reach me using the Email Me and Student Appointments buttons above.

Subjects: Behavioral & Social Sciences, History, Humanities, Peace Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology

Online Map of the Medieval World

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization
more... less...

"The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. A work in progress with no claim to definitiveness, it has been built in less than three years by a dedicated team of Harvard undergraduates, graduate students, research scholars and one professor, with some valuable contributions from younger and more senior scholars at other institutions." --Introduction, © 2008 President & Fellows Harvard University.

Acknowledgements

This guide was produced by Rachel Brekhus, with assistance from Lee Anne Litzsinger (MU School of Information Science & Learning Technology) and input from Lois Huneycutt (MU Department of History).