Looking to build confidence with library research tools? The Research Ready in 15 Minutes series offers short, virtual workshops on specific databases, each designed to help you become more comfortable finding scholarly sources.
Each session is:
Only 15 minutes
Focused on a single database
Hosted by a Mizzou librarian
Open to all students, faculty, and staff
📅 See upcoming sessions and access recordings: Research Ready in 15 Minutes
Subject Line: New to research? Start here in just 15 minutes.
Post:
Starting your research project and not sure where to begin? Join this quick Research Ready in 15 workshop on [Database Name] to learn the basics. You’ll get a fast, focused introduction to a database that can help you find high-quality sources for your assignment. See more information on this guide: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15.
🕒 Just 15 minutes.
💻 Online and easy to join.
👩🏫 Led by a Mizzou librarian.
📅 [Date and Time]
🔗 Register: [Zoom Link]
Subject Line: Quick refresher: Get the most out of [Database Name]
Post:
Used [Database Name] before but want to feel more confident as you start your next research project? This 15-minute workshop gives you a fast, focused refresher on how to search effectively, filter results, and save time. See more information on this guide: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15.
🕒 Just 15 minutes.
💡 Tips to level up your search skills.
👩🏫 Led by a Mizzou librarian.
📅 [Date and Time]
🔗 Register or join: [Zoom Link]
Subject Line: Research Refresh: [Database Name] in 15 Minutes
Post:
Need a quick refresher on [Database Name] before diving into your next project or lit review? This Research Ready in 15 workshop is designed for grad students who want a brief but effective overview of features and search strategies. See more information on this guide: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15.
📚 Ideal for focused research and advanced projects.
🕒 Just 15 minutes.
👩🏫 Led by a subject librarian.
📅 [Date and Time]
🔗 Register or join: [Zoom Link]
Subject Line: Need research help? Try this 15-minute workshop
Hi [Class/Student(s)],
As you begin working on your research projects, I encourage you to check out the Research Ready in 15 workshop series offered by the University Libraries. Each session is just 15 minutes and focuses on one key research database. It is perfect for learning the basics or refreshing your skills.
You can attend live or view recordings later. It’s a great way to build your research confidence with support from Mizzou librarians, and to ensure you are able to find the best research for your topics!
👉 View full series & promotion materials: http://libraryguidse.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15
👉 Direct students to register for the workshops from that page.
Best,
[Your Name]
Subject Line: Great resource for students or employees: Research Ready in 15 Minutes workshop series.
Hi [Colleague/Team],
The University Libraries are running a new workshop series this semester called Research Ready in 15. Each session introduces a different research database in just 15 minutes. It is ideal for learning about a new database, or getting a refresher/learning updates about databases you've used before.
You might consider attending and possibly sharing it with your classes, advisees, or department groups. There's also a toolkit with slides, a flyer, and sample syllabus language for easy sharing.
👉 View full series & promotion materials: http://libraryguidse.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15
👉 You can register for the workshops from that page.
Let me know if you'd like help aligning one of the sessions with your course content!
Best,
[Your Name]
This October, the Mizzou Libraries will launch Research Ready in 15 Minutes, a two-week series of 15-minute virtual workshops designed to introduce students, faculty, and staff to essential library databases.
Running from October 6-17, each session will feature:
The goal of this series is to provide acce4ssible, low-pressure learning opportunities for busy users who need either a quick refresher, or an introduction to resources that support their research and coursework. All sessions will be recorded and posted to the workshop page for later viewing as well.
We encourage you to share the PDF flyer and digital signage (you can find on the toolkit tab) with anyone who may be interested or benefit from the series! See more information here: https://libraryguides.missouri.edu/researchreadyin15.
We hope to see you in one of the sessions!
1. Learn from the Series Themselves
Attend sessions or watch recordings to familiarize themselves with the content.
This prepares faculty to recommend the databases to others.
Share your own experience when talking to faculty to build trust and credibility.
2. Share with Your Departments and Faculty Contacts
Send personalized emails highlighting workshops relevant to their disciplines.
Offer to present the series at faculty meetings or department gatherings.
Provide promotional materials like flyers, slides, or digital signage for easy sharing.
3. Encourage Faculty to Share with Students
Suggest faculty include the series in syllabi or course pages as an optional resource.
Recommend Canvas announcements or newsletters featuring upcoming workshops.
Highlight the convenience of the 15-minute format for busy students.
Subject: Quick, focused workshops to support your students’ research
Dear [Faculty Name],
I wanted to share a new series called Research Ready in 15 Minutes that offers 15-minute workshops focused on key research databases. These sessions are designed to help students build confidence and skills without a big time commitment.
I encourage you to consider sharing these with your students or including them in your course materials. I’m happy to provide flyers or slides for easy promotion.
You can see the full schedule here: Schedule
Please let me know if you'd like me to present at a faculty meeting or tailor a workshop for your department.
Best regards,
[Your Name]
Subject: Help your students get research-ready in just 15 minutes
Dear [Faculty Name],
As your liaison librarian, I want to highlight the Research Ready in 15 Minutes workshop series. Each session is just 15 minutes and focuses on a different database that your students might need for their assignments.
Encouraging your students to attend or watch the recordings can boost their research skills and improve their project outcomes. I can provide a sample syllabus blurb and Canvas announcement you can easily share.
Find the schedule and resources here: Schedule
Please reach out if you have any questions or want me to assist with promotion.
Best,
[Your Name]
Subject: Support faculty and students with short, focused research workshops
Dear [Faculty Member/Department Head],
We're excited to share a new opportunity from the Mizzou Libraries! Research Ready in 15 Minutes, a series of 15-minute workshops offered by the Mizzou Libraries. The sessions cover essential research databases, ideal for both faculty and students who want quick, effective research skill-building.
Research Ready in 15 Minutes: From October 6-17, the Mizzou Libraries will offer 15-minute virtual workshops focused on helping students (and faculty) learn some of the most useful databases for beginning research. These sessions are open to all Mizzou students, faculty, and staff, and are especially helpful for courses that include research projects or assignments.
Each session focuses on a single database and includes:
All sessions will be recorded and posted for on-demand access.
How can you share it with your department:
If one or more of the featured databases align with your course content or research goals, please feel free to:
I'm happy to help recommend a session that fits your program or project timeline. Please let me know if you'd like a personalized suggestion based on a syllabus or course goals.
Thank you for your continued partnership in supporting student learning, student success, high impact practices, and sound research practices!
Please let me know if you’d like to schedule a brief info session or collaborate further.
Thank you,
[Your Name]
