Library Guides: Exhibits at University of Missouri Libraries: Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives
The Special Collections and Archives Division consists of two departments that work closely together: University Archives, and Special Collections and Rare Books. These departments regularly exhibit materials from their collections on the 4th floor of Ellis Library and online.

Special Collections

Special Collections Online Exhibits

Detail from Nova Orbis Tabula In Lucem Edita (Amsterdam: Frederik de Wit, 1680)

Special Collections and Rare Books
The collections are diverse and range from a substantial rare book collection with material dating to the eighth century to the comic arts collection, focused on underground comics, classic comic strips, and graphic novels.

University Archives

University Archives Online Exhibits

Cover of the 1937 Homecoming Program
(University Archives, C:22/8/8)

Featured from the "Come on Home, Tigers!" Online Exhibit.

University Archives
University Archives is the depository of official records of the University of Missouri as well as of the administrative records of the University of Missouri System. University Archives also houses and preserves private papers, organizational records, and manuscripts that relate to the history of the University, the University community, and the University System.

Featured Exhibit

A new display by University Archives in Ellis 401 provides a glimpse into the 65-year history of the University of Missouri Press through archival records from University Librarian Ralph Parker, Professor of English William Peden, and author Upton Sinclair.