Primary Sources - HIST 2950 - Plagues in History - Library Guides at University of Missouri Libraries

See the general Primary Sources guide for more places to find historical primary sources, by historical period.

History: Primary Sources
by Rachel Brekhus Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 18 views this year

19th Century and Earlier

Chronicling America
Digitized small-city U.S. newspapers 1836-1922. Can be searched by state or individual newspaper.

JSTOR
Online archive of the entire runs of many modern scholarly journals. Some of them go back far enough that you may find writing on diseases and public health from the 19th century.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), New York Times (1851-2020), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) and the Washington Post (1877-2007).
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full text access to government information dating to 1789. Content is sourced mainly from Congress and its committees, but some executive branch reports to Congress are also included. Document types include hearings, congressional committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and more. For a complete description of ProQuest Congressional contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the Content Coverage Chart on the database’s main search screen.
Date Coverage: Varies by section.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: !; Wildcard: *