This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains digitized primary sources related to African American communities in the North, South and the Midwest. Included are documents pertaining to the Pruitt-Igoe housing project, various urban issues around schools, housing and police relations, interviews with key figures in the African-American arts scene in Atlanta, and a complete run of The Messenger.
A full-text collection resources that chronicle the development of America across 150 years that include digitized images of the pages of magazines and journals.
Covers current issues for key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, as well as back issues of all AAA journals.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.
Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups.
Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Provides access to English language literature in reference works, bibliographies, web pages and journals.
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Provides access to thousands of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps in high quality greyscale and color. All printed items are fully text-searchable and manuscripts have document-level indexing. Themes covered include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion, Resistance and Revolts, Underground Railroad, The Abolition Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience and The Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today.
SEARCHING
These are examples of possible types of searches. They are not intended to define in any way the limits of searching for this topic. The second search. for example, is for one nation. There is significant immigration associated with quite a few of the 54 nations on the African Continent. One could conduct a similar search using the name of any African nation of interest. Although, there is guarantee that such a search will generate hits. The third search is for J. Crush, who was written about this topic. Of course, any relevant author might be substituted for Crush.
