Library Guides: Entrepreneurship: Industry Analysis

SIC/NAICS

Knowing the 4-digit SIC and 6-digit NAICS code for your industry will help you find information. The U.S. Bureau of the Census has a website that will help you identify the best number for your business. If you need to convert SIC to NAICS or vice versa, the bureau provides a concordance.

Researching the Industry

IBISWorld
Provides reports for all of the industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). It also includes reports on industries in Australia, Canada, China, Mexico, and the U.K.
Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance and 5 year forecasts. Each comprehensive study also examines details such as; the barriers to entry, operating cost structure (industry averages), technology & systems, and domestic & international markets. Tables and statistics include: Industry revenue, exports, imports, wages, and number of companies in the industry.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Tutorial: http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu/login?url=https://clients1.ibisworld.com/about/us/videos/
NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records.
Date Coverage: Current

Maximum Users: Unlimited
BCC Research
Provides access to market research reports and market forecasting in mostly STEM centered areas – advanced materials, plastics, biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, sensors, chemicals, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies. Over 250 research reports are published annually.

Trade associations collect information on their industry. Sometimes they will provide free data, but other times you may have to contact the associaton directly to see what they have. Check out the website and look for links labeled "Research," "Media," or "Statistics." You can find trade groups listed in the two sources listed above and also use the Encyclopedia of Associations kept at the Reference Desk.

Trade journals can provide valuable data for the entrepreneur. Trade associations often publish them and may provide access via their website. You'll also find trade magazines listed in the "Industry References" section of Industry Surveys (NetAdvantage). Use the "Journal Finder" tab at our homepage, http://library.missouri.edu, to see if the Libraries provide access.

Industry Information from the U.S. Department of Commerce's International Trade Administration
ITA's Manufacturing and Services Unit pulls together information on industries designed to help the U.S. exporter. You'll find reports related to the health industry as well as other U.S. industries.

First Research on ABI/Inform
These are industry intelligence reports on over 150 industries.
Connect to ABI/Inform, select the "Browse" tab, First Research, and then your industry.

SBDCNet resources (Small Business Development Centers)

Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports on ABI/Inform
Industry reports from BMI have an international focus.
Connect to ABI/Inform, select the "Browse" tab, BMI, and then your industry.