Library Guides: HIST 3550: Science and Medicine in Ancient and Medieval Europe: Secondary Sources: Articles

Big, General Article Searches

Discover@MU A simple and fast search engine that helps you find relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Libraries’ collections. Results contain citations for scholarly journal articles, books and e-books, DVDs, magazines, newspapers, and dissertations.
Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than an abundance of journals and covers extensive academic disciplines and provides comprehensive content, including PDF back-files, videos, and searchable cited references.
Contains 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Date Coverage:Varies; primarily 1970s-present with some titles covering earlier dates

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; wildcard: ?

Auto Alerts: http://libraryguides.missouri.edu/alerts/ebsco
JSTOR Provides access to scholarly journals in the arts and sciences. Contains a digital library of images, previously known as ARTStor, in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Free account can be created for personalization.
Date Coverage: Varies by title
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Plurals: +

Search Guide: https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004701828-Search-Help-Resources-Overview
Project Muse Provides full-text access to scholarly journals from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
Date Coverage: 1995-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
*

Broad Article Index Databases for Citation Mining

Scopus Database with abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources, including journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. A multidisciplinary resource covering materials from the humanities, sciences and social sciences. Also indexes EMBASE and allows you to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus
Web of Science Core Collection Web of Science indexes thousands of scholarly journals, books, reports, conferences and more. Citation information and analysis with cited reference searching available. The collection includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded (1990-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present) and Index Chemicus (1993-present).
Date Coverage: Varies by Web of Science collection
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: *

Both these databases allow you to:

Sort results by "citedness" by other articles - most-used/most-cited articles on top
Click from an article to the articles that cite it, and to the articles it cites
Click from the article's listing to its full text via FindIt@MU

Article Indexes and Full Text Databases

ATLA Religion Database
Contains indexes published annually by the American Theological Library Association focusing on theological studies. Also provides bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Date Coverage: 1949-date

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *;Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: https://support.ebsco.com/help/Atla
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. The database includes articles, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages.
Date Coverage: 1967-present
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Truncation: Truncation: * Wildcard: ?
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Includes bibliographies of secondary and primary materials related to the period of 400-1700 CE as well as several journals and an international directory of scholars.
Maximum Users: Unlimited
Philosopher's Index
Index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present.
Date Coverage: 1940-date.

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?
Scopus
Cross-disciplinary index of high-quality journal articles - strongest in science and medicine. Allows you to follow the scholarly conversation via citations, backward and foward.
Date Coverage: 1970-present; selected access back to 1823

Maximum Users: Unlimited

Truncation:
Truncation: *; Wildcard: ?

Search Guide: http://help.scopus.com

Tutorial: https://supporthub.scopus.com

Auto Alerts: http://library.missouri.edu/search/databases/alertslist.htm#scopus